cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Same as everyone else..... Speed, latency and drops...

stevie5141
Dabbler

Same as everyone else..... Speed, latency and drops...

So.… I wasn't going to bother posting this fault due to thinking it was just because of the current situation and everyone online all the time but today it just seems unbearable.

For the last few weeks my broadband connection has been constantly dropping, sometimes a few times an hour but connects straight back on again. My speed is way lower than my guaranteed minimum but what's really driving me made is the latency which is around 700ms from the router.

Seems that more and more people are experiencing this so some transparency would be appreciated … I'm a senior network engineer myself and it smacks of overselling bandwidth/ too many subscribers, and the infrastructure cant handle it..... I know because my company also oversells its ISP.

If this is the problem I'd rather someone told me straight and I'd just ride it out. I have access to Openreach's fault testing through my company so know the line itself is fine.

14 REPLIES 14
stevie5141
Dabbler

Re: Same as everyone else..... Speed, latency and drops...

Can only assume that someone is doing some testing as since I posted this my connection has dropped at least 6 times in the last hour?? 

Tibzor
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 25

Hi @stevie5141

Sorry to hear that, I can see that you have already raised a fault on your account here

There is fault found on your line when tested, potential HR Joint is detected and there are loads of errors on Downstream, quite few on Upstream. Can you please confirm if Own Domain Checks were completed before we will arrange engineer visit? Can you please comment on open fault ticket once router will be connected into test socket so we will be able to retest your line?

-Piotr

stevie5141
Dabbler