cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

warejon9
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-05-2016

SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

We have recently been having a few issues with our broadband, and our SNR went a bit "wild". Openreach started looking into it, in the mean time have been using routerstats to monitor the SNR and various details, and it appears that every day at 7am, the SNR drops by 1db and at 10pm, goes back up by the same?

 

The exchange i'm on probably has less than 20 houses on it, and fairly certain they ain't all watching Netflix at 7am, any ideas?

 

Kr

WJ9

 

9 REPLIES
dannyboy75
Rising Star
Posts: 97
Thanks: 19
Registered: 06-08-2015

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Just a guess, but could be something electrical in your house coming on at 7am each day (e.g. boiler/TV/radio?)

 

 

warejon9
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-05-2016

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Interesting thought. Sadly nothing comes on at that time, and there is not anywhere near the modem, apart from the phone (using the mk 3 faceplate).

Andrue
Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

It could be almost anywhere in your neighbourhood. Or it could be a neighbour who has their router/modem on a timer and only powers it on between 7am and 10pm. I used to do exactly that back when I had ADSL and before I started hosting my own mail server. Well actually in my case it was 7am to 10pm  at weekends and 5pm to 10pm weekdays.

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Just testing your line now. Are you using our Hub One, or your own router?

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
warejon9
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-05-2016

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Afternoon Matty, we are using the newest plusnet router.

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Well it's a bit odd as fibre lines don't really give out an SNR margin. Are you using a site to see these routerstats at all?

My colleague is taking a look at the fault side of things for you today.

Matty

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
warejon9
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: 19-05-2016

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Its a piece of software called routerstats, designed for the BT HH5, but it just takes the data from the helpdesk section when you login to the router. It records information such as max line rate, connection speed, noise margin.

gofaster
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 12
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day


MattyC wrote:

Well it's a bit odd as fibre lines don't really give out an SNR margin.


Hmm - so what exactly is the router referring to when it says Noise Margin?

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 1 days, 14:04:31
6. Data rate: 2001 / 20712
7. Maximum data rate: 3933 / 21043
8. Noise margin: 11.9 / 6.4
9. Line attenuation: 37.2 / 28.7
10. Signal attenuation: 37.0 / 24.6

Haybasha
Rising Star
Posts: 157
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-05-2014

Re: SNR Margin drops 1db at same time every day

Noise margin is the SNR, the latest PlusNet Router is basically a rebadged Home Hub 5. You will probably find your max attainable rate is also changing due to the sudden change in SNR although it may not affect your actual line rate.

I have a similar problem although my SNR is doing a step change of exactly 0.7dB but at random times during the day and night. I use DSLStats to monitor the line 24/7, I believe you can use Routerstats which is similar to DSLStats on the HH5, maybe it will work on your PlusNet router too? If it does you can monitor constantly.