cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Router statistics

TCB123
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎23-02-2016

Router statistics

I have the following from my router and I have a couple of questions.

The maximum data rate, is this the speed the router could connect at if it thought the signal was good enough?

The upstream attenuation is high. Could this be responsible for the lower than expected download speed?

 

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 3 days, 11:05:29
6. Data rate: 7889 / 31172
7. Maximum data rate: 8584 / 36504
8. Noise margin: 6.4 / 5.9
9. Line attenuation: 32.7 / 21.9
10. Signal attenuation: 32.5 / 19.4
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,582
Thanks: 271
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Router statistics

Have you by any chance recently upgraded to Fibre?

Either way, I would reboot the router and look again.

 

TCB123
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎23-02-2016

Re: Router statistics

Thanks. I tried rebooting the router and the figures are roughly the same. Slightly better upload speed.

I am not new to fibre broadband but have had a slow speed decline and I am investigating

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,582
Thanks: 271
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Router statistics

It would be worth looking at the DSL Checker to see what you line should be capable of delivering.

Then if the speeds you should getting are significantly higher, then start on the basics:

Is the line quiet - dial 17070 option 2 from a corded phone?

Have you tried the router in the hidden test socket revealed when taking the plate off the master socket?

 

TCB123
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎23-02-2016

Re: Router statistics

DSL checker results attached. I have already had the engineer round recently who fitted a new master socket (which the router is plugged into) and fixed some corroded connections at the cabinet.

When I first had FTTC I got a stable 46Mb/s download. This has slowly dropped over the years. The GEA test does not report cross talk or any other fault so I thought the high attenuation was the problem. The line is about 700m to the cabinet.