cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Return of my Broadband fault.

FIXED
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Return of my Broadband fault.

@HarryB, I suspect that my repeated connection dropping fault has returned if this is anything to go by.

Can I have a radius log graph please, for the last 45 days if this is possible as that is how long it has been since it was last fixed.

27 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

Visual radius graph below.

image1491821762548

Seems to have gone downhill from last Wednesday. Our tests are showing a impairment in the copper joint close to your premises so we'd have to arrange a engineer to investigate further.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

Excellent @MatthewWheeler, can we arrange for an Engineer please.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

I've opened up a question on your account with the details.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

And I have duly replied. Thanks again @MatthewWheeler.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

And booked in. Fingers crossed it's a quick fix.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

Well this is the third maybe even the fourth time this line has faulted like this but each time the fix only appears temporary. What I want is a permanent fix. If I move my service to A&A they'll replace my existing lines with new copper, but whether that actually fixes it is another matter!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,638
Thanks: 623
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

If I move my service to A&A they'll replace my existing lines with new copper

I know they have a fault fix promise, but moving to new copper lines is an Openreach task, I'm not sure how they can guarantee that.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

@Chris, I never said nor implied that they guaranteed anything, I was just typing out loud hence the ! at the end of the sentence.  I made the reference based on the fact that there was a fault detected on the copper close to my house, so in theory, if this copper was replaced (by A&A) then in theory the issue should be resolved. Well at least until the new copper starts to erode and fault! Wink

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

@Mook How are things looking after the engineers visit this morning?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

@MatthewWheeler, I assume you have access to the engineer's notes. But after he'd faffed at the exchange and got the line reset he came round to test, but even doing an extended (15 min) test he found nothing! So either the lifting and replacing of the wires on the E / D side(s) for the tests fixed it, or Huh?

When he left this is what I have (WAN 2) :

royalbi
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 12-04-2017

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

If its hub one check your event log in your router!

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

@royalbi - I don't use a Hub One the sync rates you see come from my 2 DrayTek 130 DSL modems taken from the status page of my DrayTek 2925 router, that already logs to an internal syslog server. But thanks for the tip anyway.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 249
Fixes: 111
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Return of my Broadband fault.

@Mook The notes put reference re-terminating at the cabinet but other then that nothing.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team