cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replacement Router

nickt1988
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 14-03-2015

Replacement Router

Hi Guys,
I have a problem with the new router supplied by plusnet (little white one), the speeds seem to drop out every time i turn my VPN off. It will go from 4.9mb/s download speed to 1060-1280kbps.
The only solution i have found is to restart the router, sometimes once, sometimes twice, usually its once  to get the speeds back up and sometimes twice to get my devices to reconnect.
I have enough of this now and want to get a new router, i have been look at this: http://uk.pcmag.com/netgear-n600-wireless-dual-band-gigabit-router-wn/21340/review/netgear-n600-wire...
Will this work well or has anyone get any other recommendations?
Thanks
Nick
5 REPLIES
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: 24-02-2015

Re: Replacement Router

I'm sure you will get very expert replies from others but I thought it was supposed to be very bad practice to switch router or modems off.
Told it upsets the BT DLM equipment into thinking a line fault and then the DLM lowers your speed.
I presume your adsl but if spending money would it be better to buy one of the all in one box Hubs that has a modem and router in it and can do adsl and vdsl and be future choice proof?
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Replacement Router

To clarify:  It is turning the VDSL/FTTC modem on and off that can be troublesome to DLM.  Disconnecting and reconnecting the telephone wire to it is even worse.  Doing things to a separate router should not do any harm to your DLM prospects; and in a rare case (stale profile) can improve your speed.
As you say, it looks as if OP is on ADSL:  I'm not sure how badly turning of the combined modem/router is for ADSL, and I'm afraid I don't have any comments that will directly help him.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,016
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Replacement Router

As this is posted in the fibre section and the linked router isn't suitable for ADSL (no modem) I am not sure they can be assumed to be on ADSL
nickt1988
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 14-03-2015

Re: Replacement Router

yeah im on fibre, not adsl.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,439
Thanks: 1,016
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Replacement Router

This isn't a recommendation but when I get fibre later this year I will almost certainly be buying a router with VDSL capability to get rid of the BT modem and allow full line diagnostics
http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html