cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

izzybeatz
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

Hello I Hope you Can Help Me! 

 

When I First Joined Plus Net My Gaming Experience Was Really Good But Now Over The Last Six Months My Ping Has Been Ridiculously High. I Used To Get 18 Ms Now I'm Getting 300 200 150 700 Its Just Not Usable At All I Cant Do My Job Properly (I'm A Streamer Btw)

 

I Have Contacted The Technical Team On A Number Of Occasions For Them To Say Its Not There Fault You Don't Like Cancel Your Contract! I Have Found Them To Be Very Rude I Have A Loyal Customer For About 3 Years So To Be Spoken To Like That Is Not Acceptable At All!! 

 

I Have Done Speed Test After Speed Test And My Pings Never Goes Below 57ms Like It Used To i Used To Get A Constant 18ms Ping So What's Changed Please Help Me Please!!

20 REPLIES 20
Rcaocat
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@Gandalf I have huge issues with P2P for my music teaching. At peak time, I suddenly begin to experience huge packet loss which makes it simply unusable. I am using a PC wired with no micro filter. The software shows my packet loss etc and consistently I have huge issues which make me look very unprofessional. My son had gaming problems earlier in the year too. I guess it is the same issue. Am I being throttled at peak times when all I want to do is get on with my work.

 

 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,317
Thanks: 5,958
Fixes: 996
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@izzybeatz I've tested your line tonight and and the tests aren't showing any issues with the broadband signal going into your router. Can you confirm if your devices are connecting wirelessly to your router or do you have a laptop/computer you can plug into your router using an ethernet cable?

The speeds you've shown are a lot less than where I'd expect because your router's in sync at around 30mbps (that's a good speed because your line's fairly long) so I'd recommend tackling that and getting your speeds sorted as the next step because the latency spikes are likely a symptom rather than a cause.

Knowing whether you're using a wireless or wired connection, and if your devices are wireless trying a wired connection would assist in getting to the bottom of the problem for you.

 

@Rcaocat I've tested your line and it's showing it's in even better shape with your router getting a speed of 79.9mbps (you're very close to the cabinet) and there's no issues detected or congestion showing at the exchange. 

Could you try running a traceroute to pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com and post up the results?

Also it may be worth setting up a ThinkBroadband Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) from Here although you won't be able to use this with the new router we've sent as the Hub One blocks ICMP requests by design, unless you put a device into the DMZ (Something I wouldn't recommend as it'd leave it exposed to the internet)

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
izzybeatz
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@Gandalf Everything Is Wired My Pc And My Ps4 Its Constantly Like This!!!! Im Ready To Leave Buddy And Go With Virgin Media!!!
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,317
Thanks: 5,958
Fixes: 996
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@izzybeatz While I appreciate the frustration I'm afraid I can't fix something I can't see broken so we'd need to go through some troubleshooting to get to the bottom of the issue. Is your PC plugged directly into the router with an ethernet cable? No switches or powerline adapters in-between. Also can you try the steps I've suggested in my previous post?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
izzybeatz
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@Gandalf Yes It Is Directly Plugged Into The Router Via Ethernet And Also What Steps Did You Suggest! 

Rcaocat
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

Tracing route to pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com [80.249.99.164]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
0 MUSICROOMPC.lan [192.168.1.193]
1 dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 172.16.12.228
3 * * *
Computing statistics for 50 seconds...
Source to Here This Node/Link
Hop RTT Lost/Sent = Pct Lost/Sent = Pct Address
0 MUSICROOMPC.lan [192.168.1.193]
0/ 100 = 0% |
1 1ms 0/ 100 = 0% 0/ 100 = 0% dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
100/ 100 =100% |
2 --- 100/ 100 =100% 0/ 100 = 0% 172.16.12.228

Trace complete.

C:\Users\rmrub>

Thank you Gandalf for responding so quickly. It has been tough to find someone to help.

Rcaocat
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

Just in case the other post didn't show it right for you.

izzybeatz
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@Gandalf 

 

C:\Users\xojus>tracert pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com

Tracing route to pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com [80.249.99.164]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 21 ms 21 ms 22 ms 172.16.16.180
3 * * 25 ms 249.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.249]
4 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 250.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.250]
5 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms 195.166.129.180
6 25 ms 25 ms 26 ms 195.99.125.134
7 27 ms 35 ms 25 ms peer8-et-3-0-5.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.242]
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms po4-31.core-rs4.thdo.ncuk.net [80.249.97.85]
10 25 ms 25 ms 25 ms pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com [80.249.99.164]

Trace complete.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,317
Thanks: 5,958
Fixes: 996
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@Rcaocat Traceroute looks a bit odd (if you compare it with a normal traceroute that @izzybeatz has posted). Are you using the Hub One router? Also is your PC plugged into the router via ethernet with no switches or powerline adapters either? 

If the answer to both questions is yes, it may be worth trying another router as the next step, let us know and we'll be happy to send you a replacement free of charge. 

(Apologies for the part of my previous post which infers that we've sent you a new router. Admittedly that paragraph was a copy and paste but the word 'new' wasn't relevant. One of the few times I copy and paste, it'll teach me to proof read better...)

 

@izzybeatz Traceroute looks OK. Latency isn't high. Some hops will time out but that's normal as they'll just be prioritising te routing of traffic rather than responding back. Generally there'd be an issue if you see spikes of excessively high latency at one hop that continues on to the end.

Does the light on the front of your router change colour when you experience latency spikes? Also try running a speed test at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ completing the additional diagnostics afterwards.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Rcaocat
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

We are using Plusnet Hub One and the PC is connected directly with no switches or adapters.

 

Thank you

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,317
Thanks: 5,958
Fixes: 996
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

Thanks for getting back to me @Rcaocat

I've ordered a replacement router now you should receive by post within the next 3 to 5 working days

Let us know if you're still having issues once you've got it

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
izzybeatz
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

The Light Doesnt Ever Change Unless I Use The Faceplate Then I Get Constant Resets By Itself.

We Could Try A New Router But This Will Like My 3rd New One So I Cant See It Being The Router I Did A Speed Test At 19.00 And The Same Results As The Photos Posted Originally! Its All Good And Well You Saying Youve Done A Test On The Line And Its Seems Fine Come And Live Here For A Week And Use It Every Day You Will Be Pulling Your Hair Out Buddy! 

Thrall
Pro
Posts: 422
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 14
Registered: ‎28-09-2020

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

@izzybeatz I think the offer for a new router looks to have been aimed at @Rcaocat 

Have you completed the additional diagnostics of the BT speedtester?

If there are no issues on the line and you've tried multiple routers then the issue might be a bit closer to home

Which games are you having issues with?

Rcaocat
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-02-2021

Re: Really High Pings Makes It Impossible To Do My Job!!

Hi Gandalf - new router showing same issues - when we do a pathping it shows 100% packet loss on 172.16.12.228 then the other one further down where the request times out

 


Tracing route to pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com [80.249.99.164]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms 172.16.12.228
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 11 ms 11 ms 11 ms 140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.140]
5 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 195.99.125.138
6 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms peer7-et-4-0-2.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [194.72.16.124]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 202 ms 221 ms 230 ms po11-13.bdr-rt3.thdo.ncuk.net [80.249.97.22]
9 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms po4-31.core-rs4.thdo.ncuk.net [80.249.97.85]
10 12 ms 12 ms 12 ms pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com [80.249.99.164]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\rmrub>

Tags (1)