cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Posted speed issues

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Posted speed issues

Quote
Plusnet provisions everyone on 80/20 now, irrespective of whether they've taken Unlimited Fibre or Unlimited Fibre Extra.


Could you explain that to me please?
This week I start with Plusnet on the up to 38Mb product could have signed up for up to 76Mb, both have estimates of 30Mb.
OR engineer told me only recently I'm 1 Km of wire from my Fibre cabinet even though physically it could well be half that distance away, and if would be impossible to get more with the 76Mb product I probably would get less than being on 38Mb product.
I must say previous to his visit the DLM was taking me down and down, on this reset after the 36/48 hours of training it as stayed constant at the estimate.  
So back to my first line what are you saying Plusnet will be having BT put down my line?
dick:green Quote tags fixed.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎27-10-2012

Re: Posted speed issues

Openreach provide two FTTC speed variants - 40/10 and 80/20.
Plusnet supply two FTTC speed variants - up to 38Mbps and up to 76Mbps. The upload speed is up to 20Mbps because Plusnet provision everyone on 80/20. If you buy the Fibre Unlimited, your up to 38Mbps is set Plusnet's end.
So essentially Plusnet provision everyone with their suppliers on the same speed variant, but they limit your line their end if you chose the lower speed package.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Posted speed issues

@dnpark38 I don't think you have read the OP when you have waided in with you question. This is supposed to be a rant against people asking similar questions  Wink
Perhaps a mod will split it off
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Posted speed issues

Peter, Andy asked me a question and I answered him, sorry if I did wrong.
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Posted speed issues

I'm sorry too but I'm interested in this discussion about the way speed questions are raised and answered on the forum. And people do tend to read the last post rather than the whole thread  Roll eyes
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Posted speed issues

more serious question split off to its own thread