Did you mean: 

Random Line Drop Outs

FIXED
DomG
Hooked
Fixes: 1

Random Line Drop Outs

Hi

As title says, Broadband keeps dropping out sometimes up to 5 times a day.

Seems i'm not the only one, reading through some of the forum posts

The router status light will change from Blue to Orange, then back to Blue when the connection is restored.

It seems to happen mostly in the mornings between 8:30 - 11.00 am, but now and again in the evenings

I have noticed this more in the last 4 weeks due to working from home.

On Sunday 19/04 it dropped out about 7 times between 10:30 and 11:30 am. 

The router logs show reboots but they don't seem to coincide with the dropouts.

I work in IT support and trying to assist someone remotely when the connection drops is a bit of PITA

Strange enough my connection has been fine today (21/04/20).

10 REPLIES 10
KatieC
Pro
Fixes: 11

Re: Random Line Drop Outs

Hi @DomG

Thank you for your query, I am sorry to hear of the problems with your broadband.

Having checked over the connection today, I can see that there are a number of drops in the connection daily. Upon testing, the interference seems to be with the home environment.

We'd be happy to raise this to our suppliers following some checks being completed from your side to rule out the cause being internal as, if an engineer does attend and confirms the fault is internal,, you would be charged for the appointment.

If you could run through our troubleshooting steps here and getting your router connected into the test socket for the time being as shown here. If the issues then persist, please log a fault with us.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Katie C
 Plusnet Help Team
Cleo
Dabbler

We have raised this issue on several occasions, it appears there are a lot of complaints regarding this issue!

so in essence it is NOT our line or anything else! It’s Plusnet!