cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about using my new router

classic2
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-09-2015

Question about using my new router

Hi,
I have recently signed up with Plusnet's fibre service which is being installed on the 2nd October.
I currently have ADSL broadband with another provider, and in preparation for the new service I have bought a Billion AC8800AXL router. I was thinking about setting up my router with my existing providers service until the Plusnet service is up and running.
I'm not very knowledgeable on this sort of thing and wanted to ask if would cause any issues when the Plusnet service starts.
Thanks,
Tom
5 REPLIES
dickcango
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 14-09-2015

Re: Question about using my new router

You should be Ok, if any issues just reset the router to factory settings and start again
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Question about using my new router

As above. No issues should be encountered.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
classic2
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-09-2015

Re: Question about using my new router

Thanks, I will connect it up tomorrow and see how things work out.

Tom
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Question about using my new router

Let us know if you have any issues.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
classic2
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 15-09-2015

Re: Question about using my new router

Hi,
I set everything up this morning and it's working fine. The router is giving a maximum speed of around 500-600 Mbps, whereas my previous Netgear router was never more than about 48Mbps.
Tom