cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Promised minimum 62MBPS but only getting a max of 21MBPS

mie_thompy

Promised minimum 62MBPS but only getting a max of 21MBPS

Hi,

I am new to PlusNet. I signed up a few weeks ago with the promise of 62mbps minimum download speed. Over the past few days I have checked my internet speed and the maximum it has ever shown was 21mbps.

Please can I get this sorted as this was not what I signed up for. Came to PlusNet because the internet was supposed to be faster than my last provider - so far, not true by a long way.

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8
hexa
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Promised minimum 62MBPS but only getting a max of 21MBPS

unfortunately government allows the industry to be down right deceitful. they can promise you anything as long as they say 'upto'. then it's just Russian roulette what you will actually get. if you complain they will just give you the run around 'testing routers' and sending engineers 'to look' until you finally take the hint and give up pestering them.

the whole industry is crooked like this as they are just about maximising profit and giving people the least amount of service possible.

complain to offcom and your MP.

jon
Grafter

Hi,

This is the third time I've written this message but it keeps disappearing when I view the thread again...

What product are you on? I guess Fibre extra?

What speed does BT think you can get? Go to https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ and enter your phone number. Look for VDSL Range A (Clean) downstream range high and low.

When you do a speed test you need to make sure it's with a wired connection to make sure you're testing the broadband not your wireless connection and make sure no other devices in your home are using the internet. Follow the instructions at http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/ to get a proper speed test.