cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profile Issue

zishan
Rising Star
Posts: 90
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-05-2016

Profile Issue

As requested by @HarryB

 

@Anotherone Here are the following results you asked for, firstly ticket number

11 Aug 2016
131448471

 

That's been 5 days now!

BTW Result :- Download speedachieved during the test was - 35.15 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 26.65 Mbps-38.07 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 38.07 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 7.37Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps

 

TBB speedtest :- 33.70mbps DL

7.64 UL

 

Speedtest result :- 33.42mbps DL

7.75mbps UL

 

I hope this helps, You already helped me before upgrading my bt modem to correct software so it can recognise g.inp and IP Profile jumped from 36mb DL to 40.99mb DL, but since faults done a change its gone down to 38mb.

 

Thanks in advance

 

Hopefully @Chris or @HarryB can look into this tomorrow. Maybe run a GEA test for you. You should clearly be on the 55/10 product which should give throughput result at around 52/9 if your profile were high enough (which yours isn't due to line length), but on Plusnet they often are more typically 49-50/9 at best.
For you, I'd expect throughput nearer 38/9 not a profile of 38 with lower throughput Lips are sealed

24 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Profile Issue

Actually this post is more relevant where your profile was higher before faults got messing -

I've just had a adjustment done on my profile by faults and it was a disaster, I was originally on 42.99mb DL & 20mb UL.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Profile Issue

And there may have been some messing around on the 1st or 2nd of August because -

zishan wrote:
The current Downstream BRAS rate is: 40.99 Mbps

The current Upstream BRAS rate is: 20 Mbps

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

I've been looking in to this and your line appears to be performing as well as expected based on the estimates:

 

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 44 32.4 8.3 6 -- Available -- --

 

 

GEA test:

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0003
Description No problem found, OAM test is not currently supported on this line.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 39.3 Mbps
Upstream Speed 9.1 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 807.1
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

 

As you can see the profile is set to the highest range, so isn't causing any restrictions and the sync speeds are well within the estimate range.

 

It's unlikely there's going to be any improvement based on this.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Profile Issue

Thanks for that Chris, the results seem to indicate that's the case. However you may have missed my previous two posts whilst doing the test. There is nothing convincing that indicates good reason for the drops in sync speed other than what's resulted from Plusnet's fiddling.

What does the Radius check show the WP Product Profile as?

There's also this

More evidence of the BS you've been given -

zishan wrote:
He also said we have 1000 ppl working here and didn't know who the rep was who told me 5pm, lol

You have been told a load of rubbish, each time you speak to an agent , and they access your account , there should be a note on your account,, giving the name of the agent , time and date.

www.lbc.co.uk - leading britain's conversation
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

The workplace profile is at 55Mb/s/10Mb/s so is correct for the line.

 

There are notes left on the account, quite a lot from different advisors.

Reading them they are all generally consistent saying things such as the sync is within esimates and correct.

 

So I have no issue with the information provided to the customer as this has been consistent and correct.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

There is nothing convincing that indicates good reason for the drops in sync speed other than what's resulted from Plusnet's fiddling.

2016-05-29 17:17:42 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   33200 Generic Speed 33200 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report
2016-05-28 15:19:02 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   40000 Generic Speed 40000 No Time Out Manual Change
2016-05-27 22:34:37 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   33800 Generic Speed 33800 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report
2016-05-26 11:29:25 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   40000 Generic Speed 40000 No Time Out Manual Change
2016-03-11 17:32:25 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   38600 Generic Speed 38600 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report
2016-03-03 05:23:00 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   37000 Generic Speed 40000 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report
2016-02-23 05:27:14 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   37600 Generic Speed 37600 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report
2016-01-11 00:35:27 WBC FTTC Annex A 20Mbit/s Up, 40Mbit/s Down, Standard Stability 80000   39200 Generic Speed 39200 No Time Out Speed update by Delta Report

 

I'm not sure what *Plusnet Fiddling* you refer to as the profile is still at 80/20 wholesale side so we cannot affect the sync. Also looking at the history of the speed changes of this line, they suggest it's been below 40Mbs sync for quite a long period.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
zishan
Rising Star
Posts: 90
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-05-2016

Re: Profile Issue

I have gone from 40.99mb/20mb to

The current Downstream BRAS rate is: 38.07 Mbps
The current Upstream BRAS rate is: 10 Mbps

This change was done within the first week of August.

I've been on 40.99mb/20 for sometime since updating software for modem for g.inp thanks to @Anotherone help.

But faults told me my profile has been adjusted and will be updated within 24 hours and it showed 38/10.

All I'm asking for is that I get the highest profile possible, I managed to get 43mb speedtests with 40.99 profile and had no issues with service.

Now I'm lucky enough to reach 36/7mb during speedtests.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

As your line is performing well within the estimates, it's not something we can report as a fault. The sync rate is determined between your modem/router and the cabinet and isn't something we can directly affect.

 

So although your speed may fluctuate, as long as it's in the estimated range it's not a fault we can report I'm afraid.

 

But faults told me my profile has been adjusted and will be updated within 24 hours and it showed 38/10.

They would have been referring to the profile on our side, which is set correctly. We cannot alter the BT IP profile on a fibre line.

The line also seems to be quite stable, with the occasional drop but nothing too concerning:

 

 
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
zishan
Rising Star
Posts: 90
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-05-2016

Re: Profile Issue

So why the change from 40.99 to 38mb?

And also on your graph it shows Low 32 high 44, but my btw shows estimated 26 to 38, should it not be showing est 32 to 44.

 

It was also very stable with 40.99/20 profile.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

So why the change from 40.99 to 38mb?

Could be a number of reasons, from crosstalk due to more fibre lines connected to your cab, to a slight degradation in line quality, to REIN or interference.

 

And also on your graph it shows Low 32 high 44, but my btw shows estimated 26 to 38, should it not be showing est 32 to 44.

Did you check on phone number, postcode or address? The estimates you're seeing are lower than the ones I provided so again you're still well above the low end of the estimate.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Profile Issue

@zishan Are you saying that the BT DSL Checker now shows 38 - 26?

zishan
Rising Star
Posts: 90
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-05-2016

Re: Profile Issue

It shows high 44 and low 32.4

 

But my btw estimate starts from 26 to 38, why can it not show estimate 32.4 low and 44 high

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Profile Issue

Did you check on phone number, postcode or address?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
zishan
Rising Star
Posts: 90
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-05-2016

Re: Profile Issue

i just did a bt dsl check with telephone number, give me a link please on what you talking about and ill check it