cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

My 40/20 profile gave me steady speeds in the upper 30's download and 15 or more upload. Plusnet switch to improve profits to 50/10 took a time to set in place, at least the improvement in download speed did. I was pleasantly surprised a couple of days ago when my download speed increased as promised.  Checked on BTW diagnostic and my settings were 51.26/10. Within a day they had dropped 14.26/10 and now they are stuck at 31.42/10. So I'm getting a lower upload and a lower download of 8-9 upload and 20-29 download. I was about to renew my annual line rental but I'm holding fire to see what Plusnet faults come up with.

62 REPLIES
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Just a heads up that there seems to be a physical problem, rather than the profile.

Your sync speeds are much shorter than what we'd typically expect. Once the fault is further investigated hopefully we'll look towards a fix.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Still no improvement or Plusnet contact. The strange thing is that when I test on Speedtest.net and Broadband sites I am informed that my ISP is INFONET SERVICE GROUP   not PLUSNET.

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Thank you MattyC . Why the change in ISP supplier?Huh

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

It's still under a Plusnet IP address, it's that it's reported under Infonet. Don't worry too much about it.

ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Sorry to be so suspicious but my problems started when Infonet was reported as my ISP. Are Plusnet using an Infonet server? Hence the Infonet reported ISP. Haven't Plusnet/Bt had problems with Infonet equipment in the not too distant past? This can be checked by switching my IP back to the Plusnet server?

mikejphillips
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2015

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Also with problems on switch from 40/20 to 55/10. Down speed has remained unchanged (32'ish max), and performance if anything worse. Chat with 'Jake'? today and he confirmed I appear to still be on 40 cap. He siad it would be sorted - not yet! This also shown on PN page which quotes '55Mb with range 40 something to 52, actual 40.

I am also getting occasional broadband disconnects and occasional phone crackling. Altogether not impressed!

 

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

When I looked at Plusnet speed for me it was set at 21.6 Huh and BT  is locked at 31.42 Max. I've been receiving since fibre a steady 34-37 Mbps(wireless) on the 40/20 profile but now 29-30/ 8-9 if I'm lucky. I really feel that not only has Plusnet switched us to 50/10 but also to another piece of poor equipment that BT has probably off loaded on them.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,427
Thanks: 999
Fixes: 193
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

@mikejphillips -


mikejphillips wrote:

Also with problems on switch from 40/20 to 55/10. Down speed has remained unchanged (32'ish max)


If you were getting 32Mbps when the download was capped at 40Mbps, I wouldn't expect it to increase when the cap was changed to 55Mbps.

You're currently in sync at 48.9Mbps down and 10Mbps up, however it looks like there may be a fault on your line.

 

I'd recommend raising this at http://faults.plus.net so we raise the fault with our suppliers for you.

 

@oldjack -

oldjack wrote:
When I looked at Plusnet speed for me it was set at 21.6

Sorry to see that had dropped down to an ADSL cap in error. I've corrected that now to a more appropriate figure for your sync speed.

Having said this, your sync speed is lower than your estimates, so I think you've done the right thing raising a fault so we can investigate further.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
mikejphillips
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2015

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Thanks, Harry. After my !second! go at 'CHAT' trying to get my profile raised to 55 I succeeded thanks to 'Liam'. Still trying to find out why 'Jack's' assurances of a reset yesterday did not happen! I now have a marked improvement in download - hopefuly DLM will not spoli that! - and speeds are now 'satisfactory'.

 

Next issue to crack is occasional noise on the phone line (inc in the master socket)...... I cannot see how I can 'prove' an occasional' noise to any engineer unless it happens while he/she is there?

oldjack
Grafter
Posts: 82
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

My Plusnet speed changed to 32.2 Mbps which is still well below what is was on the original server. I believe that there are engineering works scheduled for Monday morning ,I hope this means we are being switched back to the Plusnet server. I noticed on on test that my latency was sky high and I believe that is linked with packet loss. The competition suggests speeds of 44-57 with a minimum of  36-39 worst case. Come on Plusnet you don't want to become a TalkTalk, do you? 

dnpark38
Rising Star
Posts: 432
Thanks: 16
Registered: ‎24-02-2015

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

It is Packet loss of 50% that is stopping my internet experience since I was changed last Monday.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/1476198475230638155-mini.png
KS25
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-07-2016

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

how did you get your profile bumped to the new speeds?

 

i talked with a very stubborn rep that insisted that i was getting the highest speed my line was capable of... which is up to 38 and up to 9, the same speed i've gotten since i purchased this FTTC package 2 years ago - which is generally 35/5 and hovers up or down 1

 

he told me that my speeds would not go up even though plusnet emailed me stating so

mikejphillips
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎08-07-2015

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

Two 'CHAT' sessions - first 'Jack' (Friday) assured me I was stuck at 40 and he would 'sort it'. Second 'Liam' (Saturday) did the same and sent me a copy of the new profile. I asked he escalate this as a complaint as to why the first request was not actioned and I have been 'assured' a manager will look into this tomorrow.

 

'HarryB' here seems to get onthe case?

KS25
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-07-2016

Re: Problems with 40/20 to 50/10 switch

funny, the bloke i spoke to said plusnet had no way of changing my "estimated speed" which was 32-45 according to him... but then they can update profiles? why didn't he just do that for me?Huh