cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Power lines and speed

DavidLFC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2015

Power lines and speed

Changed from BT about 3 weeks ago and speed has been good with 40mb+ consistently.... This was using the BT home hub, I now need to return this to BT and open reach have put their modem in with the plusnet router
The wireless connection is so so with 25-45 speeds, however I have power lines which then connect to another router downstairs for the skybox /playstation and to extend the reach round the house.
This speed has always been similar to the primary router and no issued, since I've swapped to the plusnet equipment the downstairs router is now averaging 5mb and ranging 3mb to 6mb. - upstream is good though with 18mb +

Unsure what is causing this and has been working perfectly with the bt equipment, whilst with bt and before that with talk talk.. I'm at a loss to what is causing it
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Power lines and speed

Check the settings of the upstairs router. If it's own (gateway) IP address is 192.168.1.254 then that will be the problem, try changing it to say 192.168.1.250.
That IP would have been ok with the BT HH which has a IP of 192.168.1.1 but it will conflict with the Plusnet router which has the same IP address.
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Power lines and speed

It could be an MTU issue, but I'm afraid I'm not sure how the check that, or what to do about it if it is.  Someone with more knowledge might have more specific suggestions, or be able to rule it out of court altogether.
DavidLFC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2015

Re: Power lines and speed

The other router is on .251
Mtu is the fragmentation?  If so set to 2346 and cts threshold is 2347 with an automatic preamble?
Thanks
DavidLFC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 18-06-2015

Re: Power lines and speed

Sorry found mtu and it's 1432, I have changed to 1500 after a quick google search. Now averaging 10-12mb so heading in the right direction but half of the primary router
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Power lines and speed

THe Pusnet router will have a MTU of 1492, you could try that on the remote router.