cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Potential Install

cockers
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-01-2015

Potential Install

Hi,
I currently have ADSL from Plusnet and I'm very interested in getting fibre, but there's one potential problem. My master socket is nowhere near a power socket, and on a different floor from where the ADSL router is currently plugged into an extension.
I do not want to have an extension cable running from the master to anywhere - so is it possible to use an extension to connect fibre, or convert an existing extension. The house was built in 2009, so should have decent wiring.
4 REPLIES 4
WWWombat
Grafter
Posts: 1,412
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎29-01-2009

Re: Potential Install

Yes, there are a few options - provided the order goes in to include a Data Extension.
With this option, the engineer could install a separate, broadband-only, data extension - this would be wired from the master, with the filter placed in the master socket.
But the act of ordering the extension also seem to give the engineer the authorisation to move the master to some other location instead. Or he could adjust the current wiring to make one of the extensions into a new master (this method needs a spare pair in the cable between master and extension, obviously needs a decent type of extension cable, and is a method frowned on by some people).
Sometimes, however, it depends on the engineer who attends. Often, he will be a contractor from Kellys or Quinns, and these guys seem a little more reticent to do such work.
Plusnet Customer
Using FTTC since 2011. Currently on 80/20 Unlimited Fibre Extra.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Potential Install

Do you need to plug a phone in to the socket where you want the modem?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
cockers
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-01-2015

Re: Potential Install

Many thanks for the replies. In reply to whether I need to plug a phone in - I can probably get around it if it means a good solution for Fibre.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,785
Thanks: 971
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Potential Install

If you can get away with only plugging the phone in to the master socket there is a good solution.
Order the data extension kit. When the engineer arrives ask him to convert the existing extension in to the data extension socket for the modem using the existing cable. He should be happy as it means he doesn't have to run a new cable.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)