cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

cwaite
Grafter
Posts: 186
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-01-2013

Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

I currently have my landline with BT and my fibre optic broadband with plusnet, I am thinking of leaving BT and going with the Post Office for my landline only, as the post office landline is cheaper than plusnet and BT by a mile, however, I want to keep my fibre optic broadband with PlusNet, does anyone know if I can move my landline from BT to the Post Office and still keep my fibre optic broadband with plusnet?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 175
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

I think that the Post Office is a reseller of LLU services so no it's not possible IMHO  Smiley
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,554
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

Yes, there's been a couple of post recently from people planning a move to the Post Office ( one here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,142216.0.html , can't find the other at the mo ) but I don't think we've seen conclusive results of any move yet... 
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 257
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

You could move it to Origin, a lot cheaper with their LRS offers. But you may have to pay £2.50/mo to PN if you don't have both with them, depends on your contract.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

Thanks for that, I hadn't hear of Origin before.  Cheesy
Their prices look interesting but there's a disappointing lack of info on their web site, eg call tariffs price for add-ons etc.
cwaite
Grafter
Posts: 186
Thanks: 8
Registered: 10-01-2013

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

Can someone post the website for Origin I cant seem to find them.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

I don't think the Post Office are actively taking on customers on BT lines, and generally do LLU migrations (though I'm willing to be corrected on that). So unfortunately, it would be a no. Apologies.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
ChrisWoods
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

Until I signed up to PN (yesterday!) I've been using a Post Office phone line with Sky LLU ADSL2+ without issue. Prior to that I was a BE customer, again with PO Phone. No issues whatsoever, I think their basic phone service is simply CPS / WLR of the BT Wholesale product.
Their weekend inclusive UK mobile / US landline / US mobile / various European countries inclusive allowance on their basic call package is a very attractive perk no other provider seems to offer, if you do the retro thing and actually pick up the phone to talk to people... I liked that they kept their weekend offpeak start and end times the same when everyone else (BT and their ilk) pushed them back an hour to 7pm on Friday.
It's £1 a month cheaper than PN if you do their 12 month line rental saver (£11.something vs. £12.99), plus the attractiveness of the one-month contract with no activation / migration fee -- least there wasn't when I migrated many moons ago.
ChrisWoods
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 11-08-2015

Re: Post Office Phone & Plusnet Fibre (is it possible?)

Migration went with only one small snag (small for me, but it might bother some people more... read here) and I was online on my activation date, no problems.