cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor speed

Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Poor speed

hi.

joined plusnet a little under a month ago, promising speeds of 45-61

what do i really get Huh 25.19 today.

we did see 45 once in the initial 10 day start up.

please advise.

 

Estimated line speed:61Mb (This may vary between 45.2Mb and 61.6Mb) - Current line speed:32.8 Mb

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub

2. Serial number:

3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated Unknown

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One

5. DSL uptime: 10 days, 22:33:21

6. Data rate: 10221 / 39620

7. Maximum data rate: 10258 / 40934

8. Noise margin: 6.4 / 6.9

9. Line attenuation: 24.8 / 18.3

10. Signal attenuation: 24.7 / 16.3

11. Data sent/received: 4.9 GB / 48.1 GB

12. Broadband username:

13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: 2.4

14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))

15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2

16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: 6

17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: 5

18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))

19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2

20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: 44

21. Firewall: Default

22. MAC Address:
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0

13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,218
Thanks: 170
Fixes: 29
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Poor speed

Your sync speed is below the estimate you have quoted, have you plugged the router into the master or better still test socket? If your sync speeds improve then the reduction is due to your internal wiring, if it stays the same then you should report a fault.

MrSilver
Pro
Posts: 550
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 9
Registered: 05-10-2016

Re: Poor speed

What do you get on http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/

Then run further diagnostics and let us know what's on there and then run test 3 too which bypasse plusnet network too.

You should be getting faster speeds based on your estimate.
Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Re: Poor speed

direct connection into master.

 

 


1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.

  Download Speed
  41.41 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 42.26 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 41.41 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 29.58 Mbps-42.26 Mbps .
 Additional Information:
 IP Profile for your line is - 42.26 Mbps


2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.

  Upload Speed
  1.71 Mbps
   
0 Mbps 20 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 1.71Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

 

Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,623
Thanks: 464
Fixes: 36
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: Poor speed

That is faster than what your router stats showed before, what are they now?
I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
MrSilver
Pro
Posts: 550
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 9
Registered: 05-10-2016

Re: Poor speed

Thanks, can you also show the output of https://www.dslchecker.bt.com (remove you telephone number!)
Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Re: Poor speed

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number:
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated Unknown
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:21:47
6. Data rate: 10327 / 39319
7. Maximum data rate: 10315 / 39278
8. Noise margin: 6.4 / 5.9
9. Line attenuation: 24.6 / 18.3
10. Signal attenuation: 24.5 / 16.2
11. Data sent/received: 2.6 MB / 25.7 MB
12. Broadband username:
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: 2.4
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: 6
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: 5
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: 44
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: 24:20:c7:53:22:76
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0

 

vdsl clean high 66.5    low 49

impacted high  52.7    low 30

thanks for helping

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 359
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Poor speed

Do you have, and are you using, the test socket?

Did you do the speedtest in the test socket, but then plug it back in as it was before?

Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Re: Poor speed

Last speed test was done in the master socket, i got 40.tried it wireless got 38. But i noticed the line profile was set at 40.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 359
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Poor speed

By master socket, do you mean test socket?

See http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/socket.htm

Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Re: Poor speed

Test socket.
The one behind the plate
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,218
Thanks: 170
Fixes: 29
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Poor speed

What about the answer to @MrSilver question?

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 359
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Poor speed

Were the second set of stats from the Hub One taken while in the test socket?

Pnd123
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 24-12-2016

Re: Poor speed

Yes second results are from the test socket