cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor speed on fibre

jacquiindevon
Dabbler

Poor speed on fibre

Hi, I moved from being a long time user of BT over to Plusnet on 1st August with the lure of superfast fibre broadband roll-out to rural communities. Since the OR engineer came and set up the fibre and an OR modem I have had issues with my broadband speed and wireless connection using the Plusnet router supplied. After reading some of the very useful forum responses on both issues I am asking (as a complete novice in these things) about what to do next. I reported the speed issue to Plusnet on 14th August but no response from the technical team as yet.
I am supposed to be on unlimited fibre at 40mb but get on a good day with the wind behind me, about 6.36MB download and 1.08MB upload but this drops to about 3.50MB and less than 700KB during the early evening. I use a wired computer as the main computer for the home but have two teenage sons using laptops and playstations. I have had an email from Plus net saying the line speed can be 78MB but when I have completed a check through the BT wholesale site it said the maximum was around 7.46MB.
As I live down a lane about 1 mile from the exchange I don't expect to get 78MB but was hoping for more than the speed I was getting through BT on a 'regular' broadband service.
My second issue is with the Plus net 2704n router (sorry if this is on the wrong thread) it seems to have a very poor range and is constantly dropping and disconnecting so much so that it is impossible to use wireless devices for more than 10 mins.
So I guess my questions are - what is the position with less than expected speed - what is the best way forward? and on my second issue - does Plusnet provide another router without this wireless problem?
Thanks for any advice
17 REPLIES 17
Terranova667
Pro
Fixes: 5

Re: Poor speed on fibre