cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor speed and no line estimate

khile
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎22-09-2014

Poor speed and no line estimate

poor speeds last 24 hours have made my connection fall from around the 78mb mark to 2-5mb i have tried restarting router and manually disconnecting via the router interface but speed very rarely returns and when is does its only for a short time
i tried using bt's speed tester but got error " The Performance Tester is currently unable to run a speed test for your broadband connection. Please try again shortly, however if this problem persists, raise the issue with your service provider." and now plusnet shows my speed as Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Could these be looked at too as unable to run diagnostics i spoke to someone on via chat and they said my broadband order might not have been closed off properly with supplier?

Cheers
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,982
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

Our tests aren't showing any issues.
Is this over a wired or wireless connection?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
khile
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎22-09-2014

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

Its over wired and via home plugs. Both give same results
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

You really need to test with wired directly to the router to eliminate interference via the Homeplugs.
khile
Grafter
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎22-09-2014

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

I have tried both wired directly to  router and it gives same results.
Weirdly if i reset router full speed returns but only for short time
cedlor
Grafter
Posts: 687
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

Quote from: khile
i spoke to someone on via chat and they said my broadband order might not have been closed off properly with supplier?

So were they going to do something about it?  have they raised a ticket?  If neither I would ring them again.
wwex786
Grafter
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎13-02-2016

Re: Poor speed and no line estimate

Quote from: khile
I have tried both wired directly to  router and it gives same results.
Weirdly if i reset router full speed returns but only for short time

I have the exact same problem as you. Every time I reset my PlusNet hub I get full 35mb/s as I should be getting. but after like 10 minutes it goes down to 5-7mb/s !  Sad