cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

redhedgehog42
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 19-12-2014

Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

Since yesterday the Plusnet Speed checker keeps returningbthe following:
Download test returned an error while trying to read the download file.
What's going on?
Can someone from Plusnet pick this up and look into the situation. - I am on FTTC and the same response from the tester appears on both my Macs whether working directly connected via ethernet or via Homeplugs.
5 REPLIES
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: 01-08-2011

Re: Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

I use this one. Smiley
http://www.speedtest.net/
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

@Seahog
Thanks for flagging it, I've flagged this up internally to be looked at.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

Please note, the 'My Broadband speed' tester still displays 'Please Note: We are currently experiencing issues with our speed tester and results may not be 100% accurate.', it has been somewhat 'broken' for longer than I care to remember now.
Having said that, there are plenty of alternatives (such as mentioned by @jockwav), my favourite is http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/speedtest2.html
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 176
Fixes: 2
Registered: 27-05-2011

Re: Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

It's been bust for at least two years  Grin
Part of the pleasure of being with Plusnet is their iffy website with broken links and hidden features  Roll eyes
Extra spice added when newbies post shock horror stories that they have found something when we old timers knew all along  Smiley
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Plusnet's My Roadband Speedchecker not working.

Quote from: PeterLoftus
It's been bust for at least two threeyears  Grin

http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,103382.0.html
It just happens to be 'properly' broken now.  Even 'back then' there were suggestions for it just to be removed from service since there are plenty of alternative speedtesters.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.