cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

mwhenham
Newbie
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Just to report back, my connection has been stable for over a week since the fix was applied.

Many thanks.

 

proverbs15-1
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎02-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Hello Bob! I think you did once... it got better... then like I told you it was no so good again... and now, it seems perfect again! 

Thanks!!

WWPlus
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎19-01-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@purplebadger that is extremely helpful advice and I've carried out the change to the pinger. It's a pity though, as I rather liked seeing the 7ms response time to the gateway.

 

My modem is just the standard FTTC device given by Openreach - I'm not sure I've got much choice about this. In any case, it achieves ~65 up and ~18 down.

My pfSense box is based on the rather rare (and a little aged) Intel DQ77KB board. It's got an even rarer i5 3470T CPU and a whopping 8Gb RAM and a 64Gb SSD. It's a little bit like cracking the proverbial nut with a planet, let alone a sledgehammer.

 

In any case I'll be building an almost identical box for my parents who've just got FTTP installed. Then I'll experiment with linking the sites via VPN - got to give something for those processors to chew through.

tom166
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎21-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Hi Bob,

 

Ive been told by PlusNet i have this issue can you patch my router?

-Plusnet Hub One

-4.7.5.1.83.8.226

-Unlimited fibre 40/2

-psb-ir01

-MacBook OSX

-Google drive 

-a month ago

-Dont have a VDSL2 router to try.

 

Thanks Smiley 

Tags (1)
purplebadger
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@WWPlus Did it help? I miss seeing the fast ping to the gateway too - it just feels wrong it not being there - but it certainly seems to have made a difference to me.

Heh, that is a sledgehammer to crack a nut. I thought I was overdoing it with an old Core 2 Duo with 4GB RAM and a spinning disk! :-)

You could run a decent vSphere instance on that. I have an HP Proliant that's got some AMD mobile CPU, and 8GB of RAM (and a ton of fast spinning disk), and I used to virtualise pfSense on that (with an extra network card for the WAN), but then someone was chucking out the other machine and I intercepted it to free up resource on my vSphere box.

I'm a little surprised there's not a Docker image for pfSense, but it works just fine in VMWare - could maybe work some of your available resources a little harder.

WWPlus
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎19-01-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@purplebadger I could run VM on that... but that's reserved for the other box (i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 32Gb RAM, and 1Tb of SSD storage). pfSense does virtualise, I did my original proof of concepts on that a couple of years ago, but I wanted dedicated hardware for it to keep it low power. My pf box draws 18w which isn't bad considering what it is.

Next project: i7 Hackintosh.

dp1
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎13-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@bobpullen Thanks for the applying the update to my router Smiley

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,859
Thanks: 1,377
Fixes: 116
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...


@kmw350 wrote:

Excuse my ignorance, but when a firmware update like this is rolled out, are they applied automatically to all customers' routers?


It's not a firmware update at this stage. The temporary fixes I've been applying involve jumping onto each customer's individual router to run some configuration commands.

 

@bobpullen I'd like to ask for the fix to be applied if possible, but more importantly, it would be good to know it will automatically be applied on a permanent basis soon.


Hoping we've a global solution to apply over the coming weeks (we should have). 

@kmw350@figgley@JS2 & @teamben, I've made some config changes to your devices. Let me know if you're still experiencing difficulties.

@tom166, I don't seem to be able to communicate with your router. Is it plugged in and powered up?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

kmw350
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Thanks for applying changes Bob, I'll see if it helps.

tom166
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎21-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Hi Bob,

 

Thanks for the reply, unfortunately i needed a quick fix so bit the bullet on a new NetGear router to fix this properly.

 

Thanks Again 

gnuGeek
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

just a quick Q. @bobpullen

does this fix limit upload speeds or settings at all?

Since I renewed my contract and thus got this new router I've not been able to stream to twtich.

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,859
Thanks: 1,377
Fixes: 116
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

It doesn't restrict upload capacity (although that would be another way for me to temporarily 'fix' the issue).

 

It does have an impact on upstream QoS though (specifically for VDSL/Fibre). The experience should be no different to the previous firmware iteration though, so streaming to Twitch should be fine.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

gnuGeek
Hooked
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎06-02-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

Thanks for the swift reply, Hmm I will have to do some investigation I'm not able to upload a 720p stream at the moment

WWPlus
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎19-01-2017

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@purplebadger

Turning off the pinger didn't work... just suffered a disconnection in the middle of a YouTube video:

 

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: Down event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] Link: DOWN event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] PPPoE: connection closed

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: LayerFinish

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: state change Stopping --> Stopped

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: SendTerminateReq #5

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: LayerDown

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: SendTerminateReq #4

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPV6CP: state change Closed --> Initial

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPV6CP: Down event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: state change Closing --> Initial

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] Bundle: No NCPs left. Closing links...

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: LayerFinish

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: Down event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPV6CP: state change Stopped --> Closed

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPV6CP: Close event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IFACE: Rename interface pppoe0 to pppoe0

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IFACE: Down event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: LayerDown

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: SendTerminateReq #4

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: state change Opened --> Closing

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] IPCP: Close event

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan] Bundle: Status update: up 0 links, total bandwidth 9600 bps

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] Link: Leave bundle "wan"

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: state change Opened --> Stopping

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: peer not responding to echo requests

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: no reply to 5 echo request(s)

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: no reply to 4 echo request(s)

01/02/2021 17:06

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: no reply to 3 echo request(s)

01/02/2021 17:05

ppp

[wan_link0] LCP: no reply to 2 echo request(s)

01/02/2021 17:05

ppp

caught fatal signal TERM

 

Sad

 

I've played around with MTU... this was set to 1492 instead of 1500, so I've cleared the setting in the hope that it was something silly like this.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,778
Thanks: 980
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Plusnet fibre broadband does not cope with uploads and will disconnect you...

@gnuGeek

Were you previously on 40/20 or 55/10?

If so when you've re-contracted you've probably been degraded back to 40/2 which is the standard Plusnet offering these days.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)