cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

I am sync at 79.99/19.99 from router straight to pc ethernet 1Gbps link speed and it appear plusnet does have real true speed continuous throttling limit download cap at 69Mbps and upload at 10Mbps?

 

1.jpg

19 REPLIES 19
Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,503
Thanks: 2,932
Fixes: 191
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed


@goldenfibre wrote:

I am sync at 79.99/19.99 from router straight to pc ethernet 1Gbps link speed and it appear plusnet does have real true speed continuous throttling limit download cap at 69Mbps and upload at 10Mbps?


This is my 'capped to 10Mbps' Upload results.

Upload.jpg

Whether you particular line is banded is another issue.

RichardB
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 807
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

Hi @goldenfibre
What software are you using to measure the speeds and tabulate them?
It is difficult to see from the table, is there a speed range in each download and upload cell?
How does the speedtest method manage bandwidth being used by other apps and users of the internet connection?
Regards
Richard
Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@goldenfibre 

We don't throttle your speeds and, before you ask, the profile on your account is set to the max at 78000 Wink

Just checked your line and there's no capacity issues on the wholesale infrastructure at the exchange either. 

However line tests are showing "Impairment in copper joint detected most likely in local network" so I'll put my money (Disclaimer: Figure of speech) that's where the issue is. 

If you can raise a fault at faults.plus.net and post back afterwards, we'll be happy to arrange an engineer with you Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@Gandalf Can you sent me GEA test result please

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

I should've seen that coming Smiley Yeah sure I'm attaching it below

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID: N/A Service ID: [redacted]


Test Outcome Fail
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_1625
Description Impairment in copper joint detected most likely in local network. Please continue to submit a trouble report
Main Fault Location CE
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 79.9 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required Y
Fault Target Fix Time  
Fault Report Advised Y
Estimated Line Length In Metres 243.6
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream traffic detected
Technology VDSL
DP Type External
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap  
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2021-05-03T18:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 79.9 Mbps 80.0 Mbps 79.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps 19.9 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 880.1 Sec
Retrains 0.0 3.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2021-05-16T16:34:20Z 2021-05-16T16:49:20Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@RichardB The software I ran this from here: http://startrinity.com/InternetQuality/ContinuousBandwidthTester.aspx

 

There is no one at my house just myself. Running it from router to pc ethernet on both windows 10 and linux still the same as download capped at 69Mbps and upload capped at 10Mbps. All TV, X box, wifi is offline just the pc and to the router.

 

 

goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@Gandalf @RichardB 

 

Seem my line back to normal now

 

1621186786326169755.png

 

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

Nice! Let us know if there's anything else you'd need help with (I'll respond to your PM shortly though)

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@Gandalf just reply to your PM message. Thanks

Mook
Champion
Posts: 849
Thanks: 622
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-12-2019

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

My line is performing really well too!

Tested prior to postingTested prior to posting

goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@Gandalf 

 

No issues here. Maybe the GEA test is old one (outdated) should be ok by now

 

BTW Performance Tester.jpg

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

Cool. Let me know if there's anything else you'd need help with Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
goldenfibre
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@Gandalf Is the latest GEA Test still the same as before (outdated) or has they release a new one now?

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,304
Thanks: 6,517
Fixes: 1,074
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet does have traffic management throttling speed

@goldenfibre The only bit of a GEA test that's outdated is the "Profile Name". The remainder is current data especially the description part so it's possible that a fault has rectified itself and it's still lingering/may cause intermittent issues.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team