cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet capped speeds?

sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 477
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-09-2014

Plusnet capped speeds?

I am currently with BT on Fibre 2, syncing at 74.94/12.89.
I am considering moving (back) to PlusNet Unlimited Fibre Extra Broadband.

My assumption was that the line connection details would remain the same,
and typically the speeds would be pretty much the same with some differences because of load, backhaul etc.

BT inform me that PlusNet lines are capped at 66Mbps on the Unlimited Fibre Extra Broadband package.
I think that this is not true. Can anyone confirm that, please?

Plusnet say for my line ...
This means you can get our Unlimited Fibre Extra Broadband with an estimated download speed of 45 - 66Mb, and an estimated upload speed of 11 - 17Mb.
Your Minimum Guaranteed Access Line Speed for this product is 39.8Mb

 

Please excuse cross posting with ThinkBroadband, not sure which is more active at the moment.

Tags (1)
30 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,509
Thanks: 518
Fixes: 194
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Hi there.

Our speeds are advertised as estimated speeds of 66mbps due to ASA regulations but we don't cap people at 66mbps

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 477
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Thank you.  That is what I thought but it is good to have confirmation.

Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Yes they do capp i am livid with them.

Check out my email after a long time i got the truth.

Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Sorry  will add in a second

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,690
Thanks: 1,617
Fixes: 123
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

For 'Capped' read 'Banded' which is something that Openreach's equipment applies to a line with issues in an attempt at stabilising it.

This is not something that Plusnet applies to a line but they can request a line reset which may clear the banding.

However there may be other issues on the line which have caused the banding to be applied and need addressing first.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Ive added the proof they do capp  my speed dropped after new contract fibre extra

I was always getting 67mps then dropped to 55mbps now its 48mbps

It took a long time to get proof  i am livid  i pay for extra i should get extra

my line is fault free     check the jpg Capped

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): CSA name(s) removed from attached image (to an area staff can see) as per Forum rules.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,690
Thanks: 1,617
Fixes: 123
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

That isn't proof of 'capping' by Plusnet. See my post above.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
idonno
Rising Star
Posts: 140
Thanks: 16
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

BT inform me that PlusNet lines are capped at 66Mbps on the Unlimited Fibre Extra Broadband package.
I think that this is not true. Can anyone confirm that, please?
 
 
 
 
 
 
My Line speed on the Unlimited Fibre Extra package is 'Current line speed:72.2 Mb' So utter BS from BT.
That's not to say the line speed might drop down at times but I have found PN fairly good for getting faults investigated / repaired whenever my line has truly gone South.
Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

My line is fault free so what your saying its not plusnet but open reach

So why can plusnet tell them to remove my capped line  who is the one

that decided to capp me in the first place.

An you tell me why plusnet dropped my speed after i re registered my account

Surely someone is telling open reach to capp lines.

idonno
Rising Star
Posts: 140
Thanks: 16
Registered: 22-10-2015

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

DLM probably. Openreach control the sync speed via DLM (Dynamic Line Management). Active all the time. Just Google how it works.

Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Thanks i shall read it .

 

Strange my neighbours are getting high 60s and i am not

because i am capped.

Shall leave plusnet and use who my neighbours have.

Job done

Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Done some reading   Yes it is proof its in black and white my line is Capped

and plusnet have or are telling them to un capp my line  if they can tell open reach to un capp my

line then plusnet must have something to do with it in the first place and this happend

after new contract.....That is when my speed dropped 

The plusnet engineer i spoke to said plusnet have told open reach to put a capp  on me.

Even the plusnet tech support was suprised and started to offer me compo.

It all stinks.

So dont say its not proof i think it is proof.

Mark777
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

Rubbish check my jpg

Moderator's note by Dick (Strat): Attached image removed as it contains a CSA name which is against Forum rules.

See attached image on post 7

sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 477
Thanks: 2
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Plusnet capped speeds?

That note from Plusnet indicates that your line is indeed capped, but by Openreach DLM, not by Plusnet.  Exactly as mentioned by Strat above.  The Internet provider/Openreach relationship is most confusing especially when it comes to DLM (a semi- automatic Openreach system).  Under some cases a cap will be applied automatically by DLM but can only be undone by manual intervention, which requires your internet provider to contact Openreach.