cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

Doglet
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-02-2016

Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

Recently got Unlimited Fibre Extra (17/02/2016) but was put on ADSL temporarily for about 2 weeks prior to it being sorted.
Plusnet Hub says 76-78(down) / 20(up)
but the BT Wholesale test says 20(down) / 15(up) with an awful (for gaming) 59.38ms ping!
I tested on CAT5 wire, WIFI dissabled, and while no one else was using the internet.
Help!  Shocked
4 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,518
Thanks: 667
Fixes: 60
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

What does the Plusnet line speed here show?
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
I think you will find that it is showing a slow speed ( i.e. an ADSL speed) and you need to phone/chat with Plusnet and get it set to the correct values for your FTTC line
BrightonRock1
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

@Doglet
Did you do the Wholesale speed test using Firefox? I have had problems with that test using FF 44.0.2. I got a much lower reported download speed from FF than testing using Internet Explorer. The number from FF was also much lower than from the test at www.thinkbroadband.com so I wonder if there may be some incompatibility with the current FF.
Michael
Doglet
Grafter
Posts: 38
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-02-2016

Re: Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

@BrightonRock
I get the same results with IE and FF.
@SpendLessTime
Estimated line speed:
    11Mb (This may vary between 7.5Mb and 15Mb) - Checked on 2016-02-03 16:21:56
Current line speed:
    21 Mb
Yeah 11Mb was the speed of the ADSL they put me on while they organised the Fibre connection. I think you're right my settings are probably still ADSL ones. Thanks.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,144
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Hub says 78/20 BT Wholesale says 20/15

Hello there. From the information provided here, it sounds like the connection profile on our accounts system is still set to ADSL rather than Fibre. I'd recommend contacting us via webchat or phone tomorrow to correct this. You'll need to reboot your router to accept the new change in speed.
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff