cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Hub One firmware level

FIXED
Highlighted
Sim0n
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-08-2018

Plusnet Hub One firmware level

Switched from BT to PlusNet on Tuesday 14th and initially connection was fine but since yesterday the router keeps dropping the connection and restarting.
I raised a ticket this morning but no reply yet (#181123706)
This evening I plugged back in the BTHH6 and now its working fine again, so I suspect a router/firmware problem, how can I tell if I've got the latest firmware or not ?
 
At the bottom of the page it displays -
 
PlusNet Hub One | Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.259 | Last updated Unknown
 
is this the firmware level?
thanks,
Simon
54 REPLIES
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 879
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

That is the latest Hub 1 firmware but it isn't a good modem/router, it's a rebadged BT Homehub 5a so a pretty old design. I would keep using the HH6, I think that will be a lot better, I don't have one myself, I never use ISP supplied routers but there are reports that the WIFi is good and it has a better modem chipset.Smiley

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,722
Thanks: 322
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

The BT HH6 is a better router, use that rather than the PN Hub1.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 11,171
Thanks: 3,435
Fixes: 558
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

Hi Simon.

I've asked a colleague from our products team to push out a firmware update to your router.

I'd expect this should be done within around a week. Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 879
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

@Gandalf  In the opening post the OP states his firmware version is 4.7.5.1.83.8.259. I thought that was the latest with a change to stop the connection dropping when the line has lower SNRM values, i.e. below 6dB. Also if the OP is using the BT HH6 now your "upgrade" is not going to work.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 11,171
Thanks: 3,435
Fixes: 558
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

In the opening post the OP states his firmware version is 4.7.5.1.83.8.259. I thought that was the latest with a change to stop the connection dropping when the line has lower SNRM values, i.e. below 6dB. 

I'm not actually sure what the latest firmware version is which helps lines on 3dB, but when our products team (Likely to be Bob) picks up the task/question I've posted they'll be able to advise or reject the request accordingly.

 

Also if the OP is using the BT HH6 now your "upgrade" is not going to work.

Unless I'm mistaken(And I could be), it should still work because the router is still showing as enabled on our TR069 management platform.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Sim0n
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-08-2018

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

thanks for all the replies.

Since switching to BTHH6 connection has been solid for last 24hours.

@Gandalf is there an ftp site I can download and apply this update from? I'm happy to try +net Hub1 again but waiting for around a week with no/little Internet access isn't really an option for me.

 

Technical Log BTHH6 shows -

 

BT Hub 6A

+084319+NQ64887592

SG4B1000B540

16-May-2018

1.0

1.64.0

1 Days, 0 Hours 1 Minutes 33 Seconds

10.00 Mbps / 40.00 Mbps

14422 / 61175

10 dB / 13.5 dB

17.5 dB

 

0/38

G_993_2_ANNEX_B

Fast Path

319 MB Uploaded / 1781 MB Downloaded

xxxxxxxxxx@plusdsl.net

Not active

TALKTALK-FD4864

Smart (Channel 11)

TALKTALK-FD4864

Smart (Channel 36)

WPA2 (Recommended)

Mode 1

On

24:20:C7:6F:F3:09

-

7.33.1

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 11,171
Thanks: 3,435
Fixes: 558
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

No problems.

Unfortunately you can't download firmware updates for our routers yourself.

We'll see what our products guys come back with next week. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 879
Thanks: 349
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

Fix

PlusNet do not have any update for your Hub 1, you are already on the latest version so its not going to change anything. I would keep using the HH6.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,790
Thanks: 1,347
Fixes: 112
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level


@Gandalf wrote:

In the opening post the OP states his firmware version is 4.7.5.1.83.8.259. I thought that was the latest with a change to stop the connection dropping when the line has lower SNRM values, i.e. below 6dB. 

I'm not actually sure what the latest firmware version is which helps lines on 3dB, but when our products team (Likely to be Bob) picks up the task/question I've posted they'll be able to advise or reject the request accordingly.


.259.1.1 is actually the latest version but we've no customers running it (yet). The only place it differs from .259 though is the embedded cert authorities i.e. upgrading from .259 to .259.1.1 is not going to help here.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Sim0n
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎16-08-2018

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

thanks. So if this is not a firmware issue what do you suggest?

or should I just give up and use my existing HH6 as suggested by @RealAleMadrid 

 

2 Days, 1 Hours 13 Minutes 17 Seconds

 
mcurnow
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎04-09-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

I've just recently swapped out my PlusNet Hub which kept on dropping connections for a low cost replacement which has managed a week without dropping connection. If you are interested it is a Netgear DM200. You need a separate WiFi solution for that device, which suited me because I've switched to a mesh WiFi system to get whole house seemless connection.

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,903
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

My mate & I was thinking the same thing that PN Hub One is very poor overall router with lots of dropping sync rate. Openreach engineer at his house told me that he would recommend BT Hub 6A rather than PN Hub One. Now, my mate getting fed up with hub one flashing orange yesterday (Saturday) and I did advised him to get back to PN and say there is a fault on his line after third engineer. Nothing to do with DSL cable, Nothing to do with no fault found. I do genuinely believe it PN Hub One keep letting him down. Avoid Hub One at all cost.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,790
Thanks: 1,347
Fixes: 112
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

@Sim0n, on paper the HH6 is a more capable device so suggestions that you stick with that are sensible.
Regarding subsequent posts, there are no acknowledged DSL stability issues affecting the .259 firmware (excluding one uncommon issue that prevents you obtaining sync at all), so if anybody has evidence suggesting otherwise then I'm keen to hear it.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,903
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Plusnet Hub One firmware level

@bobpullen can you please send firmware to my mate hub one router as his hub one router still on old firmware might affect his sync keeping dropping issues.

His hub one firmware software are: 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2