cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

upgraded to fibre extra 12 days ago and still no change in speed,

Thank you for responding to the Ticket - 165554675,

I have tested your Broadband connection and your Router is connecting at 35.0 Mbps,

had a better speed in November so no point in using fibre extra

think I will cancel contract

have I been put on fibre extra

27 REPLIES
harrow
Rising Star
Posts: 53
Thanks: 15
Registered: 03-01-2018

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

Correct,

if PN will allow you to cancel ?

Ticked off

PN, where did it all go wrong ?
goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

got 2 days left to cancel

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

What speeds does it say you should get on the DSL Checker?

 

And what are the connected speed and max attainable speeds shown on the Helpdesk tab of your router - assuming its a Hib One?

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

cab 29

 

netgear d6400 stats

Show Statistics

 
System Up Time 10 days 03:40:33
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN ADSL Link 13946283 15855775 0 1551 4152 9 days 08:14:01
LAN1 1000M/Full 17441165 19117579 0 167700 250729 02:23:33
LAN2 Link Down --
LAN3 Link Down --
LAN4 Link Down --
2.4G WLAN b/g/n 145M 1453351 2587637 0 753 675 10 days 03:39:31
5G WLAN a/n/ac 1300M 6624968 3133446 0 4135 433 10 days 03:39:31

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 34998 kbps 3494 kbps
Line Attenuation D0( 18.0) D1( 47.2) D2( 72.6) dB U0( 3.1) U1( 37.9) U2( 56.7) U3(N/A) U4(N/A) dB
Noise Margin D0( 5.Cool D1( 5.Cool D2(N/A) dB U0( 6.0) U1( 6.2) U2( 0.0) U3(N/A) U4(N/A) dB
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

It looks like you are synching at the lower end of the impacted line and even if your line was better, there is not much point in upgrading to extra as your line is not capable of getting higher speeds.

Not sure if you can get DSL stats by telneting into your router, I have a D7000 and I can, and so ca see the max attanable speeds.

Have you tried plugging into the hidden test socket on your master socket, if you have one?

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

can't remember if you can telnet my router I'll do a search

have a new master socket front after line dropped from 38 to 32

i'll try the test socket in the morn

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

test socket did not work

tried to telnet router and so far can't get it to work

no change in speed tests

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

Something is not right if your test socket does not work.

 

To get into telnet, first you need to type the following:

http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=debug

 

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

telnet on that address asks for password then 404 not found came up

ip address is 192.168.0.1

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,255
Thanks: 182
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

If you have updated to the most recent firmware, it asks for the username and password, older versions don't.

But unless you have changed it, the default is:

username= admin

password= password

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

it has the latest firmware and have set my own password

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

managed to run via test socket and speed just the same

goatty2
Rising Star
Posts: 174
Thanks: 3
Fixes: 1
Registered: 09-06-2013

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

canceled contract today and gone back to just unlimited fibre

hopefully this doesn't muck up my speeds

harrow
Rising Star
Posts: 53
Thanks: 15
Registered: 03-01-2018

Re: Plusnet Fibre Extra Speed

Well done, saved yourself some money.

My own fttc broadband would max at 33mb so there was no point in paying for anything faster.

Cool smiley

PN, where did it all go wrong ?