cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

Mine own experience is that Plusnet will rubbish the Samknows results & say they are not reliable even when presented with the proof, as said I changed from unlimited broadband to unlimited broadband with line rental & was GUARANTEED that the broadband was exactly the same product & there would be no difference in speed, however
BEFORE

AFTER

As can be seen there is no difference at all is there?
adie:green changed topic title.
51 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

What does https://portal.plus.net/view_my_broadband_usage/index.php say for your current line speed? Have your upload speeds changed?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

Don't actually see a speed link on that page but here are the corresponding graphs up upload for the same periods
BEFORE

AFTER

Interestingly I bought a FritZ!box 3490 which arrived yesterday but I can't get it working hence frequenting this forums again trying to get a solution, I have just flashed the TG982n to the lastest version of firmware & the seat of the pants speed dyno seems to think it's speeded things up, but it might just be it's quiet this time of day with the cherubs not the the Internet
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

Blast posted the wrong link!  Embarrassed
https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
They are next to each other in my bookmarks and I missed!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
40 Mb
Now got the Fritzbox working so we will see if that makes a difference this evening when the main issues seem to occur, the DSL/Internet is always connected but browsing is impossible
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

You've been downgraded from 80/20 to 40/20 (or possibly 40/10 running the BT diagnostic speed test and looking at the upload IP profile would confirm). Angry
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract


Suspect you are correct. also suspect there is an incentive on their sales people on results, so lying to customers is easy if they get a bonus.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

That wasn't what was asked for
Try this direct link for the IP profiles http://www.speedtest.btwholesale.com/PerformanceTesterWS/diagnostics.do
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

Is this better?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract

Yes
That tells us that you are on the 40/20 product or that the Plusnet copy of the profile is wrong
Either way what Plusnet have ordered from BT Openreach is the 80/20 product so removing/correcting the 40Mb/s profile should be relatively straightforward
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,526
Thanks: 1,820
Fixes: 224
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

mod:note
split from other topic as it wasn't purely about the sam knows box and usage.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

I've checked your account and no changes have been made since June, when you agreed to the new deal/contract. At that point we provided a new estimate for your line based on the new product you were moving to.
Quote
Your estimated line speed is 39.3 mbps, however this may vary due to the distance from your exchange, quality of your phone line, traffic prioritisation and management policies among other factors.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Phaeton
Grafter
Posts: 75
Thanks: 5
Registered: 26-06-2007

Re: Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

Chris, I specifically asked & was specifically told I would not see any difference in my Broadband & that although I was moving onto a new product that part would not change, feel free to listen to the conversation.
Quite spookily as I have received my Samknows from last month & things are looking worse.

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

That matches the dates of the speed tests so when he recontracted in June (changed products to Unlimited Fibre which was a 40/20 product rather than Unlimited Extra Fibre which was an 80/20 product)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,688
Thanks: 911
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Phaeton issue ( was Re: Sam Knows White Box on a Capped Contract)

Quote from: Chris
I've checked your account and no changes have been made since June, when you agreed to the new deal/contract. At that point we provided a new estimate for your line based on the new product you were moving to.
Quote
Your estimated line speed is 39.3 mbps, however this may vary due to the distance from your exchange, quality of your phone line, traffic prioritisation and management policies among other factors.


Was he given the new estimated speed as part of the conversation when he agreed to the new contract or was that in an email after he'd agreed?
You are capping his speed - the BT speed test clearly shows that his IP profile is 46.37 - the current line speed on the portal should be the same.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)