cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Path Mode Interleave

akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Path Mode Interleave

Hi,

For sometime now, I have been getting speeds below 60Mbps where it was over 70Mbps.

I got myself a Draytek 2860n and configured it in bridge mode. The stats are showing the Path Mode as Inerleave

Can someone at Plusnet please remove this mode?

Thanks in advance.

 

 

Capture.PNG

 

 

 

16 REPLIES 16
RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 994
Thanks: 403
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Path Mode Interleave

PlusNet have no control of Interleave and other parameters on VDSL2 circuits, everything is controlled by the Openreach automatic DLM system. Your reduced speed could be caused by crosstalk which is interference from other lines as more people switch to VDSL2, also you do not have re-transmission (G.Inp) enabled which could increase your speed but that is also not under PlusNet's control and is not supported by one of the cabinet types (ECI) used by Openreach. 

So basically there is nothing you can do about it.:sad:

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 848
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Sorry to hear you're having speed issues.

Unfortunately it's correct that we can't switch off interleaving for you.

We have a very limit set of tools when it comes to modifying or fibre circuits. 

However your connection is extremely intermittent so there seems to be a fault somewhere. Our tests aren't finding the cause of the drops though, so I'd recommend trying the steps Here including a different modem/router if you can.

If you continue to experience issues please report a fault to us at http://fault.plus.net giving us a nudge over here when you've completed it.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Thanks for all the help.

I think these disconnects are the result of the Draytek 2860n which I have replaced with the original BT ECI modem.

I read somewhere here there is a new trial which allows ISP to send request for a DSLAM reset. If this is true, can you please request one?

Thanks.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 848
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Path Mode Interleave

No worries.

I'm afraid we can only request a remote DLM reset if your line is banded which it isn't: "Profile Name: 0.128M-80M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off"

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

@Gandalf
Thanks for the information. Do you know how long it takes DSLAM to 'review' the connection?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,355
Thanks: 5,025
Fixes: 848
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Unfortunately there's no set timeframe.

If you want to know more about fibre DLM I'd have a read of: https://community.plus.net/t5/Library/FTTC-DLM-What-it-is-How-it-works/ba-p/1322799

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Thanks for the link. I will just wait and see what happens.

akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

@Gandalf
Any chance of posting a GEA test of my line please? Thanks.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,159
Thanks: 195
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Hi @akashi here's the GEA:

 

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 67.6 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 463.2
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From 23:00 to 23:45
Interference Location Customer Premise
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Interleaving Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-10-11T12:30:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 65.5 Mbps 67.5 Mbps 66.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 20.0 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 893.5 Sec
Retrains 0.0 4.0 0.0
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lauren Barry
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Many thanks @LaurenBI

I am concerned with the "Regular Interference Observed Daily" on the GEA test result.

I am hoping this is showing because I was setting up my new modem last  Friday which required multiple reboots.

Since last Friday, I have connected the BT OR modem and haven't touched it since.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,148
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Path Mode Interleave

@akashi,

 

To be completely honest I wouldn't particularly worry too much about that section. It picks up based upon errors and retrains over a 14 day period, and if there are any it will always show a marker there (although the wording changes every so slightly).

 

As you can see directly below that it also says "no service impact" so it's likely that the odd drops have caused that. 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

After waiting 4 weeks, the IP profile did not increase and I checked every week.

I decided to do a WAN reconnect on my router and noticed the IP profile increased to 72.46Mbps

However, my achievable speed seems to be capped at around 67Mbps through speed tests.

Last year I was on the 3db profile and was getting actual speed of around 74Mbps. Is it possible to go back on this?

Can you please provide another GEA report?

Thanks.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,631
Thanks: 272
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Hi @akashi 

 

As you can see fro this GEA - your sync speed is 74.9 

 

Test OutcomePass

Test Outcome CodeGTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000

DescriptionGEA service test completed and no fault found .

Main Fault LocationOK

Sync StatusIn Sync

Downstream Speed74.9 Mbps

Upstream Speed20.0 Mbps

Appointment RequiredN

Fault Report AdvisedN

NTE Power StatusPowerOn

Voice Line Test ResultPass

Bridge TapNot Detected

Repetitive Electrical Impulse NoiseNot Detected

Estimated Line Length In Metres468.0

Upstream Rate AssessmentVery Good

Downstream Rate AssessmentGood

Interference PatternNot Detected

Service ImpactNo Impact Observed

Home Wiring ProblemNot Detected

Downstream Policing Discard Rate0.0

Customer Traffic LevelUpstream and Downstream Traffic Detected

TechnologyVDSL

Profile Name0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

 

I hope this helps in some way. 

 

Thanks,

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
akashi
Grafter
Posts: 30
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-10-2016

Re: Path Mode Interleave

Thank you for posting the GEA result @MasterOfReality

 

I am happy to see interleaving has been removed from my line.

Any ideas why I am not able to reach speeds above 67Mbps with this connection? All tests I am doing is via ethernet connection and with a setup which has reached 74Mbps before.

Thanks.