cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet loss

Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Packet loss

I’m encountering packet loss up to 80%. Can someone check my line?
13 REPLIES 13
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 926
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Packet loss

Hi @Elsadog,

I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing this issue. I've tested your line and we're not detecting any reason why this would be occurring and everything appears fine from our end of things. As this is the case, my first question would be if you're connecting to your router via Wi-Fi or Ethernet cables? If you're only connecting via Wi-Fi my first recommendation would be to connect via Ethernet cable to see if the problem still occurs.

Another question I'd ask is where the router is set up? I'd recommend setting it up within the test socket in the property if it isn't already and we have a guide on how to do this here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

My set up is the same as it’s been for many years without this problem. My equipment is the same and the Plusnet router didn’t have any problems. Pingplotter identifies the packet loss at 195.166.143.141 (141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk)

Highlighted
RichardB
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 493
Thanks: 158
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Packet loss

Hi Elsadog,

How much packet loss was reported against the destination IP address?

Is the loss is only apparent against the router at the intermediate address (195.166.143.141)?

If the loss is only on an intermediate address then it is symptomatic of that router not responding to all pings but actually performs is primary function of sending the packet to the next router in the chain.

If the loss starts at an intermediate address and propagates to the final IP address then that is symptomatic of packet loss.

Regards

Richard

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 926
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Packet loss

Hi @Elsadog,

Thanks for confirming this for us. At this stage, I'd ask the same questions as @RichardB has and I'd also be curious as to how you first noticed this and for how long you've been noticing this?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

Thanks for the answers. I’m not technical. This has been happening for a week or more. BB tests show I’m getting 34-39 mbps. It’s most noticeable when gaming as disconnections occur frequently. I use iPhone and iPad so can’t connect other than by wireless, however both suffer equally. I’ve had BB for ten years or more and never had this problem before switching to Plusnet. Restarting iPad/iPhone or router have no effect. The attachment is typical: the problem is confined to the same ip and no other. I’ve attached another screenshot from PingPlotter. 

Regards, 

 

 

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 926
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Packet loss

Hi @Elsadog,

Just to confirm, you're connecting over Wi-Fi when gaming and noticing the disconnections? When you're disconnecting, are you being dropped out of matchmaking completely or is it lagging? Also, is this happening across multiple online games or only certain ones?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

It’s across any and all. On other sites it’s only noticeable occasionally but that’s the nature of the site. Live gaming you disconnect immediately. There is no lag. My BB checker says all is well but it would wouldn't it? It’s not ping. As I said I’m not technical so might be talking gibberish. The packet loss is always the same source/origination as per the previous attachments. 

Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

Thanks for that RichardB but it’s too technical for me. Did you see the screenshots?

Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

Hi again, I’ve just done a trace to two IP addresses that miss out the problem IP address. In both these cases they connect from me, bypassing stage 3, without any packet loss whatsoever. The problem seems to be at your end not mine.

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 360
Thanks: 61
Fixes: 23
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Packet loss

Hi @Elsadog,

 

We cannot diagnose a packet loss issue properly using a wireless connection as there are many things that could cause a wireless interference.

 

Checking from this side everything is looking spot on to the router. In which case I'm personally leaning towards wireless interference as this is the most common cause when everything is looking spot on between our side and the router and especially if you solely see the issue happening when using wireless devices and not so much wired connections.

If it is solely wireless devices where you notice the issues then I'd recommend following the steps below on how to best optimise the wireless to suite your property which should improve things for you.

What we need to change are a couple of settings on the Wireless page of your router's menu. What we are doing is often called 'splitting the networks' and 'changing wireless channels'.

1) To connect to your Hub One, you will need to open a browser and go to 192.168.1.254 If you have any issues doing this via Wireless, we recommend trying to do it via Ethernet cable instead.

2) You should come to a page with information about your connection, click 'Advanced Settings' at the top and it will ask you to sign in with a Password. This is located on the back of your router under 'Admin Password'

3) Select the option for 'Wireless' followed by '5 GHz Wireless'. What we want to do to begin with is turn 'Sync with 2.4 GHz Wireless' to 'Off' and update the SSID to be different. The easiest way would be to add '-5G' to the end so it is identified as its own connection. Once this is changed, we will need to keep an eye on it for a day or 2 to see if the issue continues. If it does, the next step would be to change the wireless channel. Keeping in mind the original 2.4Ghz unchanged name network connection would be the best to connect your devices to for a stronger signal.

4) Following the above guide to get to your 'Advanced Settings' page, you will need to change the settings within the 2.4 GHz Wireless tab and the 5 GHz Wireless tab.

5) Under the correct heading, you will need to find 'Channel Selection' on the list and change this from 'Automatic' to any one of the other channels, This can also need doing under '5 GHz Wireless' to cover both signals. Give it 3-4 hours of testing to see if the issue still persists and try to change the channel again if you see little or no improvement.

Let us know how it goes please.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris
 Plusnet Help Team
Elsadog
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-10-2018

Re: Packet loss

Thanks for that. Unfortunately it’s [-Censored-]. The very problem I’m encountering has been going on for other users since 2016 and is well documented on your own help pages - 86 pages of them - https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/High-packet-loss-and-other-DNS-issues/td-p/1354749

 
The problem stems from your intermittently responsive 141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net which is mentioned in numerous posts. In previous messages I have pointed to this as reported by PingPlotter. I attach ANOTHER screenshot of it. The problem is apparently at your end and has been on and off for three years.
 
The second attachment compares to mine but is from 2016 when the same packet loss problems were being encountered from the same source 141.hiper04.
 
Alan Holland
 
 
 


RichardB
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 493
Thanks: 158
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Packet loss

Hi Elasdog,

The pingplot graph is in my opinion misleading.

There is no packet loss on the destination IP address (216.92.151.75) [www.pingplotter.com].

141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net  actually did not drop any packets.

All packets were forwarded through 141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net to the subsequent devices in the path to www.pingplotter.com

The graph is showing is that on 68% of the pings 141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net did not reply directly to being pinged.

Regards

Richard

RichardB
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 493
Thanks: 158
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: Packet loss

There is a guide on how to interpret pingplotter results at:

https://www.pingplotter.com/wisdom/article/latency-packet-loss.html