cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet Loss

xRainex
Grafter

Re: Packet Loss

@chrizk They are active in the forums, but whether or not they choose to help with this is another question..

I too am on a static IP address, and I've read elsewhere on these forums that switching back to a dynamic one has fixed the issue for them. Having a static IP is not much of an issue for me so I may just give it a go to see if it changes anything, otherwise its just waiting for Plusnet Sad

chrizk
Dabbler

actually @Browni, how do you direct the ping to the nominated device?  I am only familiar with redirecting ports.

(I have never used the DMZ before)

chrizk
Dabbler

Sorry @xRainex, I feel like I have highjacked your post ....but, do you know if we have to keep paying PlusNet £5 each time we switch to/from static?

Admin fee(!) surely this can be automated (or even given as a standard feature)?!?!?

Craigy
Dabbler

Here's another image from my SamKnows WhiteBox showing pretty consistent UDP packet loss. Notice the sudden drop and increase that correlates with the ThinkBroadband graphs.

Screen Shot on 2016-11-09 at 16-05-39.png

xRainex
Grafter

No worries @chrizk! I'm not entirely sure to be honest with you, I've only ever switched to a static IP once, which was only because it was a workaround to a previous problem that Plusnet had with their network. I don't think there's any charge to switch back to dynamic, but I assume the £5 charge will be reapplied to go back to static.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 60

@chrizk wrote:

actually @Browni, how do you direct the ping to the nominated device? 

Putting a device in the DMZ takes care of that.

Browni
Aspiring Hero

@xRainex wrote:

I don't think there's any charge to switch back to dynamic, but I assume the £5 charge will be reapplied to go back to static.

Correct on both counts.

jafreer
Aspiring Pro