cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet Loss @router?

Cameron2310
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 24-07-2017

Packet Loss @router?

Hey there, you may remember me from the other day when many of you helped me out in another thread. It seems I'm still having issues with what appears to be packet loss at the router. I've connected a laptop directly to the router and I'm getting about 30% packet loss on average after a while (Screenshot included) on the first hop. I'm getting the same issue with other routers (Tried a BT home hub, and the PlusNet One router). Is there anything I can do about this? I can't understand why this issue persists after changing routers, trying different Ethernet cables and getting another Ethernet card Sad

5 REPLIES
RichardB
Pro
Posts: 343
Thanks: 99
Fixes: 4
Registered: 19-11-2008

Re: Packet Loss @router?

Hi

I cannot see any packet loss at the destination IP address, all the packets got there.

There is a guide to interpreting ping plotter results at

https://www.pingplotter.com/manual/interpretgraphsexampleone.html

Richard

Cameron2310
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 24-07-2017

Re: Packet Loss @router?

Thanks, I didn't quite know if that was packet loss, or just the router not wanting to ping back. Guess I'll just have to phone a specialist or something as I can't find the networking fault myself. Thanks for the reply Smiley
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Packet Loss @router?

Sorry if this has been asked in the other thread, but have you tried pausing anything that is uploading when you're experiencing issues? I can see large periods where you're using near the maximum data per hour on your upload, so if that happens it can have a negative on the download. -Chris

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
RichardB
Pro
Posts: 343
Thanks: 99
Fixes: 4
Registered: 19-11-2008

Re: Packet Loss @router?

Could the high uploading be due to  windows  supplying updates to the world?

 

https://www.howtogeek.com/224981/how-to-stop-windows-10-from-uploading-updates-to-other-pcs-over-the...

Cameron2310
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Registered: 24-07-2017

Re: Packet Loss @router?

Thanks for the continued support, both. I'm currently using Win7 which I set to never update so that shouldn't pose a problem. Thanks for bringing up the data use problem, I didn't realize I was nearing my max data. I'm not sure what could have caused that, as I'm using as little data as possible due to the current networking issues. I'll check with other users in the household to see if they're hogging the bandwidth accidentally which could possibly be contributing to my issue. Thanks again Smiley