cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 30
Thanks: 9
Registered: 18-06-2018

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Hi @markos,

 

Thank you for keeping us posted.

 

Please continue to monitor the issue over the next few days and let us know if anything changes.

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wasim I
 Plusnet Help Team
markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

I think the ten days are more than over now, and I now have a very solid connection so a big thank you - much appreciated.

But... (isn't there always?!) the stability has come at a cost in performance, which is probably to be expected. I really hate to sound negative on this, and this may well be due to the local uptake in fibre, the condition of the local infrastructure, etc. However, I'd like to hear your thoughts.

 

This is before and after the most recent works:

old_new.pngBefore/After

The one on the left is of "typical" speeds that I had been used to for many months. I would often refer to our speeds as 60/20'ish. I know others nearer the cabinet get closer to 70 down.

The one on the right is where we are now.

 

 

And going further back in time we were often in this ball park:-

speedtest_20161221.png

 

The Ookla speedtest's might not be regarded as super accurate, but I get fairly consistent results and therefore it's my tool of choice for a stick-in-the-ground guide.

 

Thoughts?

 

 

markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Can I add that when I moved to Fibre from ADSL this was in the email I received:-

 

Image6.png67 to 80Mbps

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 214
Thanks: 68
Fixes: 8
Registered: 11-01-2018

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

 

HI @markos

 

I think its probably worth us taking another look at this as, as you've highlighted the speed has dropped below your estimates.

 

We'll be able to progress this for you once you've had the chance to raise a new fault here

 

Best wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Thank you @RandallFlagg

 

I clicked that link and without needing to enter anything at all it went straight to this:-

Image7.png

Is that all I had to do, just click the link to it?!

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Hi, the account isn't showing that you've raised a fault so I think that's a cached page you're seeing there. Could you try deleting your browser's cookies and temporary internet files and give that another try please? - Adam 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Thanks @adamwalker

 

I've just tried it in an incognito window, same result.

Then I tried it in browsers I don't use (Firefox and Edge) and I still get the same result!

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,860
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Try opening that link - https://portal.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults in a new window - it should ask you to sign-in to your Plusnet account.

markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Thanks @VileReynard

It was a new incognito window (hence entirely separate window from normal browser,  as it doesn't keep browsing history, cookies or site data). It did ask me to log in - as it did in the other two browsers (they're not used for general surfing, they are just used for unit testing client's websites).

But in all cases, it goes straight to the screen grab!

VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,860
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

It works for me... FireFox 60.1, although in a non-incognito mode.

markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

Dusted off my iPad, and that goes straight to the screen grab too Embarrassed

I don't think I'm allowed any new tickets Wink Cheesy 

markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

When I say "straight" I mean it asks me to log in first.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

I'm just wondering if you're logging into a different account than hte one we have linked to your Community account. can you PM me your username please? 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
VileReynard
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 10,860
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 10
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

me too.

markos
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 4
Registered: 20-02-2013

Re: Packet Loss - Finding the cause

@adamwalker sent!