cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PPPOE not connecting

harpingon
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-12-2014

PPPOE not connecting

For 24 hours now, I've not had pppoe connection.
I'm running a Netgear WNDR3700 with OpenWRT since I got plusnet
Logs  in OpenWRT show pppoe discovery failing.
Connecting a PC directly to the Open Reach modem fails to connect over pppoe
I /think/ I logged a fault call online, but I can't find where I can see the status of this call.
No diagnostics appear to be available from the openreach modem.
So far I've had to pay for 2x days of BT FON so I can get online and access the plusnet help pages Sad  Might get a weeks worth
Anyone else seen these kind of failures? Anything else I can do? Everything's been power cycled.
How can I see the status of my fault call?
/frustrated (and i'ts just the start of the process, they're bound to blame the WNDR3700 and/or OpenWRT)
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 559
Fixes: 212
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Hi there.
I can see that you've logged a fault with our faults team however it looks like there's a stale session which is preventing you from connecting.
That's just been dropped by me and I can see its reconnected straight away.
Can you try and get online for me to see if its working.
If your still having issues please let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
harpingon
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Wow, yep. My router is now responding to pings, so my services are up again!
It'd have been nice if they limited access via FON that I had last night where I did a live chat session , they could have noticed this stale session and cleared it?
Anyway, happy now. Thanks  Smiley Smiley Smiley
(of course, I won't know for sure until I get home and try it properly, but a ping response is :good: and is all I can check for now, remotely).
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 559
Fixes: 212
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Thanks for confirming your able to ping your router.
It's working as far as I can see so fingers crossed when you get back you should be able to get online.
I can't see any record of someone from our live chat team looking at your account but the issue is something we can fix quickly so I'll make sure any agents are aware what to do in future.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
harpingon
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

And yes, all was well, thank you.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 559
Fixes: 212
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Fantastic.
Glad to see that's all working for you now.
If you have any further issues please let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
damoxuk
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Hello Matthew i'm having the same problem. Since yesterday DSL modem all fine just router  won't connect - discovery failing. Tried reset, factory reset etc then checked this forum.
Can you see if I have a stale session also?
I posted a fault online yesterday around this time last night also. But if can be easily fixed would be great.
Kind regards
Damian
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,667
Thanks: 659
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Hi Damian,
Welcome to the Community! Unfortunately Matthew isn't in the office today, so isn't able to show me how he resolved this. I'll give one of our faults team a nudge, as hopefully it's a similar issue to the other one in this thread and can be resolved as quickly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
damoxuk
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Ok thanks for update. Been 3 days no internet now so not to happy.
Hope resolved by weekend or I'm gonna get withdrawal symptoms lol.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 559
Fixes: 212
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Hi there.
Looks like this wasn't sorted yesterday so apologies for that. I've just dropped the stuck connection and I can see a new one has been established.
Can you let us know if your still having any issues?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
damoxuk
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

At work now will
Let you know when finish soon.
Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,667
Thanks: 659
Fixes: 163
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: PPPOE not connecting

We can see that your connection dropped and came back up shortly after Matthew's post, so all looks good from here.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
damoxuk
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-12-2014

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Yes it's connected now.
Thanks for the assistance much appreciated.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 559
Fixes: 212
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: PPPOE not connecting

Thanks for confirming the issue is fixed.
If you have any further issues please let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team