cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

FIXED
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Good afternoon, 

Are you able to do some checks on my fibre connection for me please ?

I'm only getting a 30Mbps download on my 40/10 line. I've only had the fibre upraded on 29th March but the speed has dropped since initial cutover from ADSL. Achievable upload speed is only around 6Mbps too.

All tests done from the master socket and also the usual router location in a different socket.

Attached are are the BTW and speed test results.

 

https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed shows:

Estimated line speed:40Mb (This may vary between 38Mb and 53Mb) - Checked on 2018-03-16 14:22:41Current line speed:30 Mb

 

If you need any additional info, please give me a shout.

 

Thanks in advance.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Personal information removed from attachments in a public forum.

14 REPLIES
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 68
Fixes: 3
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Hi you might want to take down the first Screen shot showing the Hub stats / info and do some editing to it, it has your Account login name as well as your Wi-Fi SSID not something you want to be showing to a public forum.

in regard to your issue, one thing I can see in the HUB stats is the noise margin is at 8.0 this can be an indication that there could be noise on the line causing errors that DLM isn't happy with if all was well it would be at 6.0 or less, with it being at 8.0 this is DLM increasing the noise margin to decrease Speed so the connection doesn't start dropping.

your Estimate is 40-55mb yet the sync is at 32Mb in theory if all is well you shouldn't have a problem reaching the 40Mb and maxing out the package your on.

you could if you wish report a fault here   https://www.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults

or wait and see if one of the forum Staff pick up on this thread and get things rolling for you.

 

Edit.. Mav beat me in regards to the first screen shot with the personal info being shown with the stats. disgard that part of the post now lol.

supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Terranova667/Mike, thanks for the heads up on the screengrab.

Interesting about the noise margin; I've grep'd the router logs and the connection/noise margin info over the last few days is as follows. SNR Margin Down now appears to have dropped to just above 6dB. 


(We also had a few unrelated power blips this evening which explains the multiple reconnects after 9pm this evening).

 

22:51:43, 26 Apr. ( 133.080000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=7194Kbps; SNR Margin Down=6.3dB, Up=5.7dB
22:37:35, 26 Apr. ( 131.100000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=7037Kbps; SNR Margin Down=6.4dB, Up=5.7dB
22:18:00, 26 Apr. ( 134.470000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6953Kbps; SNR Margin Down=6.2dB, Up=5.7dB
21:49:21, 26 Apr. (18212.310000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6749Kbps; SNR Margin Down=6.3dB, Up=6.0dB
16:47:53, 26 Apr. ( 124.340000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6749Kbps; SNR Margin Down=8.3dB, Up=6.0dB
16:12:53, 26 Apr. ( 122.980000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=4814Kbps; SNR Margin Down=10.3dB, Up=6.0dB
18:25:51, 25 Apr. ( 124.880000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6752Kbps; SNR Margin Down=6.4dB, Up=6.0dB
09:15:11, 24 Apr. (294432.080000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6819Kbps; SNR Margin Down=8.0dB, Up=6.0dB
07:51:51, 24 Apr. (289431.760000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6823Kbps; SNR Margin Down=7.9dB, Up=6.1dB
10:14:38, 21 Apr. (38803.790000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6820Kbps; SNR Margin Down=7.9dB, Up=6.0dB
08:43:14, 21 Apr. (33320.010000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6790Kbps; SNR Margin Down=5.3dB, Up=6.0dB
23:29:57, 20 Apr. ( 122.640000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6790Kbps; SNR Margin Down=8.0dB, Up=6.0dB
14:57:56, 20 Apr. (976424.220000) PPPoE is up -​ Down Rate=32358Kbps, Up Rate=6901Kbps; SNR Margin Down=7.8dB, Up=6.0dB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,317
Thanks: 2,081
Fixes: 367
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

As your speeds are below your estimates we'll need to arrange an engineer visit to further investigate.

Before we do that, can you confirm you've tried the steps here?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Hi @Gandalf, thanks for the update and very quick response on Friday afternoon.

 

I've repeated the master socket test and still the same ~30.2 Mbps max download speed.

 

Here's a summary of the testing I did on Friday evening:

1. Rerun download and BTW speed tests with filter/router connected to its usual extension socket. The attached screenshots (upstairs-exetension-*) show the results.

2. Remove all telephone devices from all sockets (master + 2 extension sockets).

3. Plug filter/router into test socket of master socket and run download and BTW speed tests. The attached screenshots (master-socket-*) show the test results. Tests run using a wired ethernet and repeated with wifi connection.

4. Swap out microfilter on the router plugged into the master socket and repeat the speed tests. Similar results (~30Mbps).

5. Re-attach all telephone devices to all sockets. Rerun download and BTW speed tests. Similar results (~30Mbps).

6. All telephone handsets have a noise-free dial tone.

7. I've also repeated the download speed tests several times from a laptop and a PC upstairs with similar results.

The only differences I can see when plugged into the master socket is on the router stats page - max data rate is showing higher at 43739 vs. 36247 when on an extension socket. Data rate stays the same at 32358. Noise margins look a bit different too. It looks like my IP profile is set to 31.32Mbps and I'm getting consistently constant download speeds very near that limit.


Are there any other tests I can do ?

 

supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Just had a call from [CSA Removed] at Plusnet; it looks like my IP profile has got stuck and he's raised an incident with BTOR for them to have a look and give the profile a nudge. Next update Wednesday 11am. 

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): CSA name(s) removed (to an area staff can see) as per Forum rules.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,317
Thanks: 2,081
Fixes: 367
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Cheers for the updates.

Fingers crossed your speeds increase then. Keep us posted. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Fix

I'm now in a position to give an update. The IP profile change scheduled for the 2nd May didn't happen until today.

 

I noticed my connection reset itself around 6pm this evening and I now see the following stats in my router:

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 04:32:30
6. Data rate: 6717 / 36420
7. Maximum data rate: 6716 / 36599
8. Noise margin: 5.9 / 6.0
9. Line attenuation: 36.9 / 24.9
10. Signal attenuation: 35.6 / 22.3

 

Looking at the BTW speed test site, I can see that the IP profile has increased from 32.4 to 35.25 Mbps:

Download speedachieved during the test was - 55.37 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 20 Mbps-35.25 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 35.25 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 6.06Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps

Although this is an improvement, it looks like it's still lower than the speed I think I should be getting according to the BT speed estimates on the ADSL checker website (40-55) and plusnet line speed page:
Estimated line speed:40Mb (This may vary between 38Mb and 53Mb) - Checked on 2018-03-16 14:22:41Current line speed:37 Mb

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,445
Thanks: 231
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

7. I've also repeated the download speed tests several times from a laptop and a PC upstairs with similar results.

The only differences I can see when plugged into the master socket is on the router stats page - max data rate is showing higher at 43739 vs. 36247 when on an extension socket. Data rate stays the same at 32358. Noise margins look a bit different too. It looks like my IP profile is set to 31.32Mbps and I'm getting consistently constant download speeds very near that limit."

 

The biggest clue is in the statement above. Max speeds on VDSL are available from the hidden socket under the faceplate on your master socket, VDSL preforms poorly on any extension sockets, in fact newly fitted master socket filter VDSL signals to extensions. Why on earth has this thread got this far without these basic checks?

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Quote fixed.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,334
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 181
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Sorry to hear your speeds are still slower than expected.

Our tests are detecting what's known as a bridge tap as shown below

Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 36.4 Mbps
Upstream Speed 6.7 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 918.8
Upstream Rate Assessment Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-32.4M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2018-04-28T12:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 32.3 Mbps 36.4 Mbps 32.5 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 6.7 Mbps 6.8 Mbps 6.8 Mbps
Up Time 810.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.8 Sec
Retrains 0.0 3.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-05-11T10:26:24Z 2018-05-11T10:41:24Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

This is normally a sign of faulty internal wiring or a poor internal setup. Any chance you can connect to the test socket and get back to us so we can retest?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Hi Matthew,

I have now plugged my router into the test socket.

 

Now I see:

4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 00:05:11
6. Data rate: 7607 / 39950
7. Maximum data rate:

7607 / 44137


and BTW:  IP Profile for your line is - 38.67 Mbps

Thanks.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,334
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 181
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

That's a lot better!

That points towards something internal being the cause in this instance,

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Agreed.

 

I think the initial fault of seeing a max speed of around 31Mbps when router plugged into either master socker or extension was indeed due to a stuck ip profile which was resolved yesterday by BTOR resetting the line (possbily as the result of the connection going up and down a fair few times in the first week in order to diagnose a faulty adsl filter).

 

 

The issue since yesterday of 'only' getting 35.25Mbps when on the extension versus 38.67Mbps when router plugged into the master socket must  be down to internal wiring and/or the extension cable length/noise with stuff upstairs.

 

As the master socket sync rate is within the acceptable download limits, I'm happy with that. Unfortunately, I'm not able to keep the router permanently in the master socket because it's in the kitchen downstairs. For the sake of a loss of 2Mbps, I'm happy keeping the router plugged into the extension socket upstairs. In reality that means I get a download speed of 4.04MB/s when on the extension v 4.43MB/s when router is in the master socket.

 

 

Either way, plusnet and BTOR have resolved the original issue of a stuck 31.25Mbps IP profile.

 

Are you going to repeat the test from earlier, or can I now move the router back to its extension socket ? It would be interesting to see if the test still returns a bridge tap status.

 

Thanks,

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,334
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 181
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

The test is still detecting a bridge tap but I suspect it can take a couple of hours to update

With regards to the extension socket you can move it back to there but if any connection issues pop up down the line we'd need you to connect back to the master/test socket.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
supertux
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-11-2014

Re: Only getting 30Mbps on a 40/10 line

Understood.

Very grateful for all your help and assistance in getting this resolved

Thanks.