cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

FIXED
djf
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-09-2014

Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

Good afternoon all,

 

I've noticed "delays" on my connection over the past week or so, whereby 'tinternet will appear to freeze for a second - i.e. browser slow to respond, iPlayer buffers etc.  It's not enough to cause dropouts but enough to be noticeable.  It's across all devices, regardless of connection type (gigabit ethernet or wireless) and investigation with the Thinkbroadband speed test shows erratic speeds:

[url=http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1484836562831615755][img]http://www.thinkbro...]

I also run TBB quality monitor which has shown a massive jump in latency a week ago (same time as the slowness started)

[url=http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/1bee9005308fab703237bd0c3012a476-12-01-2017.html][img]http:...]

 

which is still present today:

 

[url=http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/d7ee70127681a65061c68aceab6cc5a0-19-01-2017.html][img]http:...]

I've searched the forums but can't see that this is a widespread issue so, any suggestions as to the next steps please?

 

 

4 REPLIES
djf
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

I've just checked and for some reason the links to the test results don't seem to work, so here's the speed test:

 

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1484836562831615755

and the two BB quality tests (from 12/1 and 19/1) are attached.

 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,546
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

 do you mean like this ?https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Odd-TBB-test/m-p/1393324/highlight/true#M52010

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
djf
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 08-09-2014

Re: Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

Fix

Yes, that seems similar! (why the h3ll didn't I see that post before?  Note to self:  must get new eyes!)

Despite having done it once before, I've just powered off the OR modem and retested:

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=1484840582247654355

which seems much better and the BBQ now also looks better (zooming the RHS of the image)

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/03990774efe97c2b93ce6b33c35a84c6.html

 

So, although the problem seems to have gone away, I'm curious as to what caused it.  From reading the post you mentioned it appears that there are some gateway issues.  Traceroute shows that I am connected to psb-bng04.plus.net @ Colindale which, from 'your' post, seems to be OK.  Is there a way of forcing (cajoling, begging, pleading) a connect to Colindale in the future?

 

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,546
Thanks: 1,271
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Odd TBB Quality monitor issues

No sorry , any reboot is just luck of the draw which gateway you get

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .