cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Number of wifi users.

HLC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-02-2016

Number of wifi users.

Using a Plusnet fibre router (Sagemcom 2704N) in a community learning centre and we are having issues with the number of users able to connect to wifi. Looking in the router settings there doesn't appear to be a way to change this. Apart from connecting some devices using ethernet, (which isn't possible with tablets etc) is there a simple way around this using the router supplied?
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Number of wifi users.

is the problem that it won't handle the number of users and if so - how many
HLC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-02-2016

Re: Number of wifi users.

It does appear to be around 13-15 users at anyone time,but with people using several devices at once ( laptops,tablets and phones) we have issues when we have a number of users in our centre. We are a community learning centre staffed by volunteers and funded by grants,teaching IT to mainly over 50's,so our user numbers fluctuates during the day.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Number of wifi users.

you probably need a business level router/wifi access point to be honest.
the standard plusnet router is not designed to be used in the environment you are using it in.
also, you may need to check that you are not using a home package for business use.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Number of wifi users.

I suspect that for what you need you will need a business grade router - perhaps the more expert on here can advise
However - to help them - can you explain exactly what problems you are seeing
HLC
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 08-02-2016

Re: Number of wifi users.

We lose connection on some devices when we are busy and turning the wifi off on some allows the others to connect so this must be the issue. Before we upgraded to fibre we didn't have an problem so it points to the fibre router. I wondered if using another router as a repeater would be an answer.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,087
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Number of wifi users.

Quote from: HLC
... Before we upgraded to fibre we didn't have an problem so it points to the fibre router ...

You could try attaching your previous modem-router as a switch/access point by turning off dhcp/dns the that and using a cable to connect one of the LAN ports to the new router.
If you need help there, what is the other device?
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
brookheather
Rising Star
Posts: 64
Thanks: 10
Registered: 02-02-2016

Re: Number of wifi users.

Try using a BT HomeHub 5 router instead - it is compatible with Plusnet (just enter your Plusnet credentials in the settings) - I use mine with 30+ devices connected and don't have any issues.  You can buy them for £20 or so from ebay etc.