cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not getting the speed I'm paying for

cockers
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-01-2015

Not getting the speed I'm paying for

I've done the BT wholesale performance test and I'm getting

 

1. Best Effort Test: 

Download Speed : 42.19 Mbps

2. Upstream Test: 

Upload Speed : 15.57 Mbps

 

But I'm paying for 75 Mbps with 18 Mbps upload.

 

Could someone investigate please.

5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Not getting the speed I'm paying for

You are paying for up to 75, what you get depends on how far away you are from the cabinet.

What speeds does in show on the when you put your number in the DSL Checker?

And what speed are you synching at - info available on the Help Desk tab on your router interface?

And how are you checking your speeds? Via a wired Ethernet connection or WiFi?

 

cockers
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎28-01-2015

Re: Not getting the speed I'm paying for

png images attached with speed info. I'm testing via ethernet.

RealAleMadrid
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 871
Thanks: 347
Fixes: 17
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: Not getting the speed I'm paying for

Well from the checker estimates you should be syncing at 80Mbps so I agree with the thread title, however 44000Kbps or something very close to it as is your sync speed is one of the FTTC banded profile speeds so for some reason you have been restricted to that speed. Have you ever had higher speeds or suffered from a line fault that reduced your speed? The banded profile is not easy to fix and requires a DLM reset which can only be done by an Openreach engineer after fixing a fault. You need to raise a low speed fault with PlusNet as you are well below your expected speed, hopefully they can do the necessary.Smiley

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,595
Thanks: 278
Fixes: 33
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Not getting the speed I'm paying for

It does sound like you have had issues on the line, have you done a quiet line test, and have you got a VDSL master socket and tried from the hidden test socket?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,644
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Not getting the speed I'm paying for

Hi cockers, 

 

Line tests are showing a potential issue so thanks for reporting a fault with us, you should see a response to that soon. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team