cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

SO I'm losing sync every 10 - 15 minutes, apparently it's not a fault as it only started happening today which I don't believe for a second.
Below is a live TTB graph to show what's going on on, ticket is #108724266
Could someone who knows what they're talking about have a look please? To cut a long story short, last engineer spent 5 hours tracing back from the cab and found the fault to be with the *only* pair on my DP so couldn't change it, however he did say he could run a new drop wire to the DP (pole) which is the same distance from my property, which only has 3 lines attached, but it was too windy at the time.
Basically I need OR to attend and re run a new drop wire to the other DP / pole, but no one seems to be able to understand this  Angry I should add that this is happening overnight, and during the day when no one is in to download or touch any cabling etc
Live graph below
13 REPLIES
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Is this a fault yet?


Link to full size image http://i.imgur.com/Tl6TVvp.png

All done wired, I disabled wireless to make sure no phones etc were using any bandwidth either...
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

You need to run the BTw Speed Checker and Further Diagnostics.
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

I have, they're in the post above
http://i.imgur.com/Tl6TVvp.png
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,699
Thanks: 1,953
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

i don't believe they're the further diagnostics.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

IP profile 36.88 indicates that something is badly wrong but I have no idea what as the connection speeds will probably be 38.1/10 (upstream is a guess from the downstream figure)
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Ah, If I do the "further" tests, it just tries to run a TAP test and fails, not sure what I'm supposed to do there.
I only sync at roughly 6000kbps upstream unfortunately. You can see from the BQM there's a lot of weird packet loss / disconnects, and there is no one in the house downloading etc, everyone left the house around half 7 this morning.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,637
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Can you let me know when your available for a visit?
I'll get a appointment booked with specific notes.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Hey Matt, Saturday would be perfect as I'm in all day, otherwise AM next week would be best.
I really think (if possible) it'd be best to ask the engineer to run a new drop wire to the other DP / Pole as the previous engineer suggested, as the problem is definitely with the pair or the dropwire, are there are no spare pairs on my current DP pole.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,637
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

I don't think I'll be able to get tomorrow I'm afraid as the fault isn't in the right state.
I'll check it tomorrow to see if it is.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Ok thanks Matt, just let me know!
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

I already have a horrible feeling that even if I do get an OR engineer out, he;s not going to swap me DP's. Would it be able to pay OR to run a new dropwire to the other DP? Yes, I'm getting so sick of this I'm actually will to pay to get it sorted (within reason)! '
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: 10-04-2014

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Thanks for your time on the phone, all booked in for Monday morning Smiley
Quite a lot of work needs to be done for you to swap DP's, I'm not sure if OR will find it amicable. I've put notes down on the order suggesting the route of a new dropwire.
Let us know how you get on.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
GeordieMark
Grafter
Posts: 335
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-11-2013

Re: Not a fault, apparently... (Need senior CRT involvement please)

Thanks for the call Matty that was really appreciated, if it's the same engineer who's been out a few times he's usually pretty good so fingers crossed he'll do it for me! If not I'll get him into you hehe Smiley
Will keep you guys updated