cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No wifi but ethernet fine

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-07-2019

No wifi but ethernet fine

Hi there, I have a plusnet technicolour TG582n with fibre optic internet.  Today came downstairs to no wireless. Have plugged ethernet in and laptop running fine off the ethernet.  However when I try to log into the router on 192.168.1.254 get a "Access Error: 500 -- Internal Server Error" message.

 

I have tried pin reset, but wireless still dead.

 

Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.

7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,892
Thanks: 2,109
Fixes: 140
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine


@jefnerf wrote:

Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.


1. Take out a new contract and get Plusnet to throw in a new router for £7.99. You may be lucky and get a good one.

2. Go onto Ebay and spend around £20 on a Smarthub 6 and set it up on your Plusnet account. See https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Using-the-BT-Smarthub-6-on-a-Plusnet-Account/m-p/1587673#M85...

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎19-07-2019

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

Sounds like their may be a hardware fault with the router? how old is it?

 

If you want to arrange a team viewer session i would be happy to have a look and see if i can access the router.

 

 

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,516
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 921
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

Hi there.

Can you try pressing the WiFi button on the top of the router to see if that brings it on?

Failing that before deeming the router faulty, I'd then recommend try a factory reset by pushing a paperclip into the reset pinhole at the back for 15 seconds.

Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 565
Thanks: 57
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎27-11-2013

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

Might sound really daft but have you tried unplugging & plugging the router back in? Just thinking the Wi-Fi side of things may have just crashed.

Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 532
Thanks: 92
Registered: ‎03-08-2012

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

"If you want to arrange a team viewer session i would be happy to have a look and see if i can access the router."

No doubt the intention is good, but I would never, ever allow anybody to have external access to my device(s).

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-07-2019

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

Hi all,

 

Thanks for the replies.  I have done a factory reset, tried turning it off and on etc.  Does seem like the wifi is dead 😕 have had it for nearly 5 years so to be expected!  Will look at new contracts Smiley

EDIT: Have managed to access router via 192.168.1.254 on a different computer and can see in the logs "LOGIN wireless station [a0:63:91:bb:d1:29] can't get authorized."

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,516
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 921
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: No wifi but ethernet fine

Cheers for getting back to us,

It does sadly seem that way (RIP @jefnerf's Technicolor router)

Let us know if you need any further advice or assistance.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team