cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No connection

jlucas5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-02-2015

No connection

I have recently switched service to PlusNet and yesterday had an engineer install fibre. He said to wait until 12 midnight yesterday before it would work. This morning the connection still wasn't working and the router supplied (tg582n) was flashing amber and the turning green with no internet signal. Plusnet have made an order for another router however I have the same type in the house which I have also tested.
The router tested is tg582n software release 10.2.2.B variant EH. Once connected the router's power and ethernet lights are green but the broadband light remains off. The DSL light on the open reach is lit up green. I have logged into the router ip and am getting a dsl connection is down message. While PlusNet have sent a new router I am worried that the issue will still persist. Any help would be appreciated.
6 REPLIES
KevinA
Rising Star
Posts: 158
Fixes: 1
Registered: 07-02-2013

Re: No connection

If you've not already, you'd need to change the pppoe user-name and password on the router to your own I believe..
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,616
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: No connection

Assuming you may perhaps have been sent an ADSL router instead of the fibre one, you could try connecting a PC directly to the Fibre modem - instructions on how to set up a PPPoE connection here.
It will only connect one computer, but should set your mind at rest as to whether the connection is active or not.
jlucas5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-02-2015

Re: No connection

I'll  give it a try now. Thanks for the response guys.
jlucas5
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 26-02-2015

Re: No connection

Ok connection works fine using the PPPoE method. Just wait for the router now, once again thanks for the help.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: No connection

Just to add the router you are trying has the ADSL firmware so won't work on fibre without reflashing it
You could try flashing as described here http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: No connection

The new router dispatched should be set up for fibre, so when you get it just plug in in and wait a few minutes. The automated setup should kick in and get you online.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff