cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Night time streaming unusable

guitaristanime
Hooked

Night time streaming unusable

For the past few weeks, as soon as 10:30pm rolls around i have been unable to stream on netflix, play any online gaming or stream video files on plex over remote.

Im an IT technical architect, its nothing in my home, i have checked to the point where I've had literally this one device connected, all signs point to this being traffic shaping. Why? Because my speed tests always come back around 40-50Mb in the evening, despite that being 20Mb lower than what i would normally expect in the day time, 40Mb is plenty capable of streaming a 480p video file, something I am unable to do after 10:30pm.

I can't speak to CS when the issue is happening for obvious reasons.

How can I solve this?
5 REPLIES 5
guitaristanime
Hooked

Re: Night time streaming unusable

Actually, you probably don't see this often, I have to apologise as I was wrong, here's an amusing tale for you - I'd still like some help though if anyone has any ideas for this odd odd problem.

Last night, frustrated in bed with my wife (no it's not that) as Netflix once again ground to a halt and I cursed, I began thinking. I ran a speedtest from the browser on the TV and it came back at 3Mb. Curious.In unison, my wife then proceeded to tell me, the know it all IT guy that her YouTube app on her phone is fine -- she's right it is and that blows my theory out the window.

Curious indeed, I download the Netflix app to my phone, behold, it's fine.

Here's the facts:

• Prior to 10:30 pm the bedroom smart TV can stream data at a normal, acceptable speed, quick enough to play 1080p video files, the issue when it occurs after 10:30, not only affects files streamed from the internet but files that are hosted locally on my media-server and stream over the LAN.