cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New user - BT Home Hub questions

donka
Grafter

New user - BT Home Hub questions

We are finally getting our fibre cabinet installed so planning ahead. I think I would prefer a single box instead of separate modern and router so looking at potentially picking up a Home Hub 5.
The location would be in the same room as the master socket but probably about 4 metres away.
Some questions.
1. What length of cable is supplied between the master socket and the modern? Is it safe to use a 5 metre cable in place?
2. Any potential performance or compatibility issues with the Home Hub 5 or is it a good choice?
3. Would the Home Hub try and generate a BT hotspot or is that only with BT as the ISP?
Thanks.
11 REPLIES 11
kankali
Grafter

Re: New user - BT Home Hub questions

donka,
1) Mine is on a 2-3m cable, which came with the HH5. No issues using this length.
2) I have been using mine for 12 months without issue, just remember to enter your PN username and password
3) Mine doesn't generate the BT hotspots
4) Your HH will still receive firmware updates, if you start getting a lot of disconnects after one of these then a factory reset normally fixes it.
Regards, David
donka
Grafter

Many thanks David, much appreciated.
Grezzer36
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

I've been using HHub5 without BT modem for 6 weeks now. Using standard lenght cable like David B. No probs. Mine received firmware update on 22nd Jan.
Had fibre installed early Dec. Used BT modem & PNet router then replaced them with Hub 5 from ebay after after few days when line settled. Like David B no hotspot from mine. As He says need to use your PNet username etc.
Good luck when you finally get fibre. Huge difference for me from 2mb adsl !!
Smiley
donka
Grafter

Thanks guys. Might still be a few months away depending on how long the cabinet installation takes but just making sure I am prepared in advance. Smiley
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 392