cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2020

New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Hi all,

I changed to Plusnet from EE a few days ago and been having issues with the service when it comes to gaming.

On EE my kids were getting 10-20 ping on Fortnite and when the new Plusnet service started up they were getting the same.


Over the past couple of days that ping has spiked to the 200s and has stayed there continuously.

Just wondering if anybody can tell me why?

Speed tests are showing that I am getting 40 mbps / 15 mbps for downloads and uploads and 8 ping (BT-W Speed test).

It is becoming a real agro with the kids not happy, can anybody help me solve this issue?

8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 12,488
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Try your pings to big local sites such as bbc.co.uk or google.com etc

Suspect Fortnite is either very far away or not responding to ordinary pings.

Starting Nping 0.7.70 ( https://nmap.org/nping ) at 2020-05-30 22:21 BST
SENT (0.1201s) Starting TCP Handshake > fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80)
RCVD (0.2060s) Handshake with fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80) completed
SENT (1.1231s) Starting TCP Handshake > fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80)
RCVD (1.2157s) Handshake with fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80) completed
SENT (2.1258s) Starting TCP Handshake > fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80)
RCVD (2.2052s) Handshake with fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80) completed
SENT (3.1283s) Starting TCP Handshake > fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80)
RCVD (3.2212s) Handshake with fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80) completed
SENT (4.1314s) Starting TCP Handshake > fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80)
RCVD (4.2180s) Handshake with fortnite.com:80 (3.223.78.100:80) completed
 
Max rtt: 92.857ms | Min rtt: 79.335ms | Avg rtt: 87.443ms
TCP connection attempts: 5 | Successful connections: 5 | Failed: 0 (0.00%)
Nping done: 1 IP address pinged in 4.22 seconds

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2020

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Hi, thank you for the reply. Below are the results from pinging BBC and Google.

I can not understand the issue, i have two PC's in the house. One of them is getting 200ms on the game and the other is getting only 8ms. Up until I changed to Plusnet earlier in the week they were both getting around 8ms.

 

C:\Users\darre>ping www.bbc.co.uk

Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.233.251] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.233.251: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.233.251: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.233.251: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=52
Reply from 212.58.233.251: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=52

Ping statistics for 212.58.233.251:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 7ms, Maximum = 9ms, Average = 8ms

C:\Users\darre>ping www.google.co.uk

Pinging www.google.co.uk [216.58.212.195] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 216.58.212.195: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.212.195: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.212.195: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=53
Reply from 216.58.212.195: bytes=32 time=7ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 216.58.212.195:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 6ms, Maximum = 7ms, Average = 6ms

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 12,488
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Is the slow PC using wifi?

This can add quite a lot to ping times (although 200ms would be highly unusual!!).

If its possible, try a wired connection and ping to a couple of big UK websites.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2020

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Hi, 

 

The laptop is used via ethernet cable and until I changed to Plusnet never had any issues.

I thought I solved the issue by reinstalling the game which seemed to fix the issue but the ping started spiking again a few hours later.

I used a site to test the ping to the London server and it was at 20 so can not understand what is going on.

Highlighted
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 163
Thanks: 28
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎10-12-2016

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

i might be able to help eing a FN player

 

has he changed the settings for server in FN? my nephew done this thinking it would help, it should be on AUTO (EU -23ms) - or whatever you ping is as my lowest s 22ms with error protection on, if your geting 7ms ao your on fastpath(no error protection) which is best for gaming if the line supports it

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2020

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

I wish this was the case. All settings are as they normally are and the server is on auto which connects me to Europe.

I tried using a restore point on the laptop in case one of the kids touched something but still no luck.
I dont think it's a network issue because I am getting 8ms on a second computer which is older and less powerful than the laptop.
Highlighted
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 8,729
Thanks: 2,032
Fixes: 139
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

The laptop is used via ethernet cable 

Have you actually disabled the wifi ?

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2020

Re: New to Plusnet - High Ping Issue - Fortnite

Wifi is never used on the laptop so never on.

I've been playing around with a few settings and have managed to get my ping back to normal, averaging around 10 - 15 ping which I'm ok with. My MS when checking connection to the server is still over 200ms. There is only a couple of digits between connections to the US and Middle East servers which i find quite strange.