cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

Jakeanddarcy
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 23-03-2016

New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

I wonder if someone could take a look at the IP profile? Is that possible?
Happy to provide any information if required.
Thanks
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

check here (requires login to member centre): https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed to see your Plusnet 'profile' (shown as 'Current line speed'), this likely needs updating.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,086
Thanks: 791
Fixes: 171
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

For some reason, your speed profile had changed to and become stuck on an ADSL profile Huh
I've changed this back to the correct fibre profile, so a disconnect/reconnect should get that sorted on your end now Smiley
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
Jakeanddarcy
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 23-03-2016

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

A huge relief and thanks, Harry.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

This seems to have happened to me too?
I'm syncing at 40Mbps on FTTC but have a current line speed of 21Mb
May have occured the same time I was migrated to the new network.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,782
Thanks: 367
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

@avatastic
Should be sorted now.
Disconnect and reconnect should get your speed backs up.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

Cheers Matthew that's done the trick.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Jakeanddarcy
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 23-03-2016

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

Hi there, it's happened again. Sync is 39, 'current line speed' is 18.7
Any chance you can take another look?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,782
Thanks: 367
Fixes: 136
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

@Jakeanddarcy
Changed again.
If you disconnect and reconnect that should sort it.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Jakeanddarcy
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 23-03-2016

Re: New to PlusNet - 40Mb sync but speed capped at 20

Thanks
mav:quote