cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Fibre

zephyr4
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2017

New to Fibre

I have just moved from adsl to fibre I started to get some faults between me and a mate in Ireland when using skype I did a speed test and my download was just over 3meg on adsl I got 12 meg at night and 17-18 meg in the day, all was ok till 7pm and bang down to 6 meg this has happened the last few days. 

Forgot to mention I live about 75 yards from my exchange.

 

 

Thanks for any help steve

8 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,578
Thanks: 3,085
Fixes: 485
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: New to Fibre

Sorry to hear you're having speed issues.

It looks like your service is running on a hot virtual path.

This essentially means that the equipment at the exchange is overutilised. It's due to be fixed on the 10th November, however, I've contacted our suppliers to see if we can move your service to a cooler VP.

Can you let us know how it goes over the next few days?

 

Apologies for any inconvenience caused.


Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
zephyr4
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2017

Re: New to Fibre

Went down to  3 meg last night for a while, when you say over overutilised do you mean the whole exchange.

I only live about 50-60 yards from the exchange and had to wait longer to get fibre because I was wired direct to the exchange so I had to wait till they installed a cabinet outside the exchange.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,578
Thanks: 3,085
Fixes: 485
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: New to Fibre

No, just the SVLAN your circuit is connected to.

We're hoping that when you're moved to a different SVLAN that should resolve the problem.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
zephyr4
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2017

Re: New to Fibre

Thanks for the update.

I don't know a lot about it I usually ring my nephew who some times works at my local exchange but he's on holiday in Croatia.  

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,578
Thanks: 3,085
Fixes: 485
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: New to Fibre

It appears that your circuit has been moved to a cooler/less utilised SVLAN.

How's your speed looking?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
zephyr4
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2017

Re: New to Fibre

Just ran a test 6.35pm(see attachment)  and its ok will try again in a while.

zephyr4
Hooked
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎14-08-2017

Re: New to Fibre

I would like to say thanks to Gandalf and the Plusnet team for sorting out my problem, first class service.

 

z4

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New to Fibre

Glad to hear it's sorted!

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team