cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New set up

jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

New set up

Hi,

 

I know that I should give it a couple of weeks before raising concerns about speeds etc, but after plugging in my router and setting it up, I'm only getting around 15mps speeds.

 

I've signed up for the fastest speed, so would expect speeds of at least 45mps - even as a new set up.

Tried all of the usual troubleshooting approaches and my router is connected to the only phone socket in the property.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

11 REPLIES 11
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,131
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 401
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New set up

Thanks for getting in touch.

I'm sorry to hear that your speeds are below expectations.

We've tested your line and it's not showing an exact cause for this but we can see that the speeds are well below your minimum guaranteed line speed.

I'd recommend raising a fault here and posting back here once you've done so. We can then get this picked up and passed to the relevant team.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: New set up

Hi,

 

followed the steps and a fault has been logged

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,131
Thanks: 991
Fixes: 401
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: New set up

Thanks for raising the fault.

I've just sent you a further update.

If you can let me know once you've responded I'll get that progressed for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: New set up

Followed all steps
HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,178
Thanks: 1,455
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: New set up

Thanks @jamesjoc1971, I've responded to the ticket, however I'm afraid we're only able to book appointments for either an AM slot (Between 8am and 1pm) or a PM slot (Between 1pm and 6pm) Monday-Friday (With saturdays being available on rare occasions.

 

If you could response to the ticket confirming your availability for an appointment, then let us know here once you've responded, we'll get that picked up and booked in as soon as possible for you.

 

I hope this helps.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: New set up

Thanks. I've updated the ticket. Any AM Slot will be good.

HarryB
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,178
Thanks: 1,455
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: New set up

Thanks for that, I've booked an appointment and sent confirmation via the account for you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: New set up

Hi, the Openreach engineer attended and established that he issue was with the wire. He did something at the exchange and speed went to 46Mbps. Checked speedtest after he left and it was consistently around 29-30Mbps. If the speed does not increase, will I be able to downgrade my package to the plan that it more suited to those speeds?

EmilyD
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,959
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 110
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: New set up

Hi @jamesjoc1971,

 

I'm sorry to hear that your throughput speed is still poor following the engineer visit.

 

I've tested your line and the test indicates that your line is now syncing at 53.5mbps:

 

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID BBEUXXXXXXXX
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 53.5 Mbps
Upstream Speed 13.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Technology VDSL
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2019-03-05T14:01:04Z 2019-03-05T14:16:04Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 3 0
Errored Seconds 3 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

However, the connection profile on your account has not increased back to where it normally is and this appears to be what's restricting the speed on your side. I've adjusted this now and your speed should be back to normal once you've rebooted the router. Please let us know if this doesn't resolve the issue.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
jamesjoc1971
Hooked
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2019

Re: New set up

Hi, speeds are back to around the 50Mbps mark now. Thanks for your help on this. Shall I leave the ticket open for another week as I’m still technically in that ‘new set up’ mode and need to let the line find it’s best speed?
RandallFlagg
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,915
Fixes: 75
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: New set up

 

Hi James,

 

You can leave it open for the time being - it will auto-close after a period of inactivity, or you can close it at a later date once you're happy that everything is running as expected.

 

Let us know if there's anything else you need.

 

Best wishes

 

Dave