cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New router to improve wi-fi

iainawatson
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 06-05-2015

New router to improve wi-fi

I've had Plusnet fibre for a couple of years now and have finally lost patience with the poor wi-fi performance of the old Technicolor 582n, so I'd like to replace it with something a bit stronger.
Can any of you good people recommend a decent replacement that is easy to set up and won't cost the earth? (I'm on a pretty limited budget of £40 max).
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

Have a mooch here.... http://forum.kitz.co.uk/index.php/topic,14436.0.html
Emphasis on G.INP
iainawatson
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

Thanks for the reply - although I'm quite happy with the BT Openreach modem, I'm just looking for a budget router that's better than the Technicolour  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,274
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

I use 2x D-Link Dir-615 routers for WiFi access points in my home with DD-WRT firmware
They give very powerfull options running DD-WRT as an AP many other routers can be used as well, have a look at the database above.
That should cost you no more than £15 for 2!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

This appears to be a bargain and just in your specified price range.  No idea how good it really is or the seller though
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
buseng12
Grafter
Posts: 368
Registered: 14-06-2013

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

I have one of these, dual band wireless, Gigabit Ethernet ports.
Pretty good in my opinion.
http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/details/cat-9_TL-WDR3600.html

There are a few on eBay.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=tl-wdr3600&rt=nc&LH_PrefLoc=1
benfranklin
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 31-03-2015

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

I use a D-Link DIR-655, it has a gigabit ethernet WAN port and I have used it successfully to max out my parents' Virgin connection which is 165Mbps so it is more than good enough for current and probable future FTTC offerings.
It has just been discontinued but is still being offered on Amazon for £60. Second hand units will presumably be cheaper still. Bargain.
[edited to add - the wireless is however only 2.4GHz]
iainawatson
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 06-05-2015

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

Really impressed at all the helpful responses - thanks all!  Smiley
I think I might go for the D-Link  http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/D-link-DIR-655-300-Mbps-4-Port-Gigabit-Wireless-N-Router-/151663210186?pt=... or the TP-Link http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TP-LINK-TL-WDR3600-N600-Dual-Band-Wireless-Cable-Router-Black-Open-Box-/11....
Is it just a case of disconnecting the old Technicolour and plugging the new router into the Openreach modem? Apologies if it's a dumb question, I consider myself fairly computer-literate but anything to do with internet setup or networking makes my head spin!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: New router to improve wi-fi

You'd need to enter your user login details (usually in the form of usename@plusdsl.net) and password in the appropriate place (after ensuring the router is set for PPPoE connection).
I think most routers make this a simple procedure.  Login details can be found at: https://portal.plus.net/my.html?s=0&action=refresh_browser (login required!)
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.