Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New line speed problems

blundey
Dabbler

New line speed problems

Hi Peeps,
I work in IT infrastructure so know a thing or two, however this issue has me stumped.
New build house, brand new line. On top package where i should get 60-80mb. However im getting 35-38mb down and 19mb up. So with this i figured ive been put on the wrong package and put me on unlimited fibre (max 38mb), instead of unlimited fibre extra (plusnet) but the chat agents tell me I am on the right package and I see the right package listed in my portal page of plusnet. So I had an engineer come around from BT (who happens to be a neigbour and he said line is fine, and his machine tested 65mb down no problem at all.
So that lead me to think must be the router or my laptops. But nope, thats not the case. Cabled in and wireless I get the same problem. Only 35mb down. So my conclusion is...the modem is faulty, and can only handle 35-38mb/s which i find hard to believe. Or the orders team have put me on the wrong package, but its not showing on my portal...
Confused, and not sure what  angle to go down. Ive requested a new modem/router to eliminate that, but it does appear to me that its too much of a coincidence that the max speed i can get is the top speed of the package below the one i should be on. I am 1.6km away from the green exchange box too...so thats not it!
Any ideas?
11 REPLIES 11
scottymc
Grafter

Re: New line speed problems

I think your about right if your 1.6km from cabinet mate
Talamat
Grafter

Doesn't explain the engineer's test.
blundey
Dabbler

Sorry meant to say 100 meters max, not 1.6km ( that was another reading ) - engineer can get 65mb down that line....so whats the modem doing?! Are there any settings on the modem that will cap that speed depending on what package we are put on?
Rippong
Grafter