cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New install, initial speeds?

probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

New install, initial speeds?

Hi folks,
I've just moved into a new house and had fibre installed. My mother sat in while I was at work and all has gone well. Apparently he mentioned there was interference from somewhere causing a problem but then seemed to identify it, although my mum can't quite remember what he said.
I know there is some extension wiring in the house, is this likely to cause problems?
Speeds (capped 38/17) were 6.5Mbps down and 17Mbps up? With ADSL the download speed always trickled to a stop when there was an unfiltered phone on the line. Is this likely to be the extension causing the issue or should it sort itself out? I tried the test about 8 hours after the install.
Also he mentioned something about somebody not being in so he couldn't check the number and I should receive a text confirming my new number. I didn't receive this.
Time to give PlusNet a ring? Or should I wait to see if it sorts itself out?
I properly move in tomorrow so could give more detailed info then if required Smiley
Cheers!
Paul.
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,382
Thanks: 5
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Chances are they haven't poked your speed profile so you are still getting the old ADSL download speeds.
With a bit of luck one of the DCT will pick this up and give it a check.
Did the engineer fit the new faceplate on your master socket ? If so then your extensions shouldn't need microfilters any more.
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Thanks Dom, I added the info to my install ticket as that's still running so hopefully they'll sort it Smiley Amusingly it's exactly the same ADSL speed I got at my other place, although they estimated 11Mbps at the new place. I still think there maybe extensions plugged in. I'll do a proper check of the wiring after I move in tomorrow and also another speedtest.
Nice upload speed tho Wink
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Our suppliers haven't closed your phone or broadband order off yet which is preventing me from testing the line.
I'll get them to do that and I'll test it as soon as I can.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Thanks Matthew. I wonder if that's why I haven't received my SMS confirming my number yet?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Yup that's correct.
I've been advised it should be completed by the end of the day so I'll keep a eye on it.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Many thanks. I'm not actually moved in until tomorrow so that's all fine Smiley
KatC
Grafter
Posts: 60
Registered: 16-02-2015

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Just to confirm the house move orders have now fully completed  Smiley
This has now been passed to the relevant team to ensure the correct fibre package is applied to the account for you.
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Thanks for the info. Been in wireless for a bit but just sorted my wired connection to my PC.
Discovered the engineer had left the bell wire connected to an extension running all over the house so that's disconnected.
Now up to 20/16 so it's progressively going up, will wait and see what happens after it's finished settling Smiley
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Your account has just been changed now so you'll have received a few e-mails.
Everything is set correctly now so if you disconnect then reconnect your connection you should see a increase.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Is that the BT fibre modem or the router I should switch off and back again?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New install, initial speeds?

It would just be our router.
Alternatively if you go the routers log in page http://192.168.1.254 and disconnect then reconnect it'll do the trick.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

I realised it must be the router Smiley Happy with that, 38/17 as promised!!
Thanks for sorting and the excellent customer service!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 531
Fixes: 204
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New install, initial speeds?

That's a lot better!
Let us know if you have any further issues.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
probedb
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 05-10-2014

Re: New install, initial speeds?

Thanks Matthew, will do!