cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Graham21
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎23-08-2012

New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

We've just released new firmware for the FTTC version of the 582n and put it in the usual place:
http://products.plus-payh.co.uk/firmware/
10.2.5.2.FO enables multicast support for forthcoming Plusnet IPTV services.
This is not demo firmware, it's been approved and been through Technicolor's QA process but we would still like to hear from you if you have any feedback on it.
You will also see new firmware for the 589vnv3 10.5.2.F which we gave out to some of you a few months ago. This is not Plusnet specific firmware but you are welcome to use it on an unsupported basis.
Enjoy,
Graham

25 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Hi Graham,
Does your contacts with Technicolor enable you to easily get firmware for other models?
I'm looking for FW newer than 8.4.3 for a TG672. Technicolor are not what you would call helpful to home users. Sad
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 310
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

The "usual place" that you link to has a link to PN FTTC R10.2.5.2 EO.bin
Your post says 10.2.5.2.FO
Has the file not been updated or is there a typo in your post?
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,225
Thanks: 494
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Try manually refreshing the page.
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 310
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Thanks, can now see the new version.
shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Can someone from Plusnet confirm that when the  Plusnet IPTV services are rolled out, will this firmware update be done remotely, or would each user have to do the update themselves?
Graham21
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎23-08-2012

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

We can push the config to enable multicast on any Technicolor router that we have shipped.
Graham
Graham21
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎23-08-2012

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Quote from: npr
Hi Graham,
Does your contacts with Technicolor enable you to easily get firmware for other models?
I'm looking for FW newer than 8.4.3 for a TG672. Technicolor are not what you would call helpful to home users. Sad

Checking with Technicolor. My technical contact is finishing up today so I don't get something today it will be the new year.
Graham
Graham21
Grafter
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎23-08-2012

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Hi NPR, unfortunately, Technicolor have replied that there is no newer fw for the TG672. Sorry.
G.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Hi Graham,
Disappointing there's no newer FW but thanks for checking I really appreciate it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

OK I thought since the new f/w on the 582 was ip6 enabled I would do a reset and try just a login on the TG589.
FAIL FAIL FAIL.
Loads of Unauthorized when I try to run the setup wizard and PPP auth failures when I try to log in.
One thing I noticed when running the wizard it said I "now have 4 ports available, the red one can be used as normal" well this is the case anyway! Crazy
Back to the beta at the moment.
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Has anyone else observed that navigating the GUI so much slower with this new firmware?
Clicking say 'Toolbox' takes almost 10 seconds for the page to appear.  Using Chrome/IE10 on two different Windows 7 PCs over wifi  (Intel and Atheros wifi). I did briefly try different wifi channel settings but it didn't make any difference.
I've reinstated 8.C.M.0 and the response time is back to around 3 seconds using same wifi settings.
I was also testing 8.4.4.J ADSL firmware on the same unit earlier this week and it didn't exhibit any long delays when changing pages in the GUI.
Melancholie
Grafter
Posts: 451
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎23-07-2013

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Any prospect of a decent router with a 5GHz radio and GigE ports?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,624
Thanks: 24
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Sure, if you buy one  Cool
I'm using a BT Home Hub 5 which has both those things.
Melancholie
Grafter
Posts: 451
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎23-07-2013

Re: New firmware for 582n-FTTC 10.2.5.2.FO

Alongside poor WiFi range and, every so often, it does this until it's rebooted:
Pinging 192.168.0.100 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=101ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=82ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=144ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.0.100: bytes=32 time=190ms TTL=64
Isn't WiFi intereference or congestion and WiFi channels are statically set anyway.
I have one running purely as a WiFi access point, soon to be supplanted.  Smiley
dick:quote