cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

MrSheriff
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-12-2015

New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

Engineer visited yesterday and installed new hub one.
I'm only getting 1.32 ul and 1.1 dl when running speed tests. On ADSL I was getting 6mb.
Phone exchange:
NEWTYLE
Estimated line speed:
40Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2015-11-10 21:18:50
Current line speed:
40 Mb

5 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

Hi MrSheriff
Welcome to the forums.
Since you checked the speed have you performed a disconnect and reconnect from the router? If not, then you need to do so to get the speed.
When the line is initially installed your speeds will be the ADSL ones and it takes Plusnet/BTW a while to get the speed up to date.
MrSheriff
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-12-2015

Re: New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

Hello, thanks for your swift reply.
Yes, I tried that although it has been connected continuously for 24 hours now.
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 587
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

Just  saw that the posted  BT Profile speed is 1.4Mbps so I suggest you ring Plusnet (or use CHAT from a browser that does not block ads) and get them to sort out BT.
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,223
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

It looks like a issue with the BTw tester not your speed if you take a look at the test you posted again you will see it says 66.24Mb  download 8.98Mb upload  with the maximum being messed up .
MrSheriff
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 05-12-2015

Re: New fibre customer - only getting 1.32 mb

So having spoken to plusnet and them doing multiple remote tests they think there is a fault somewhere so are sending out an engineer on Monday morning.